Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is backup drive sinchronized with existing accounts?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by (cmo), Mar 16, 2004.

  1. (cmo)

    (cmo) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello:

    Does anyone know if there is a way to sinchronize the current existing accounts with backup drive?

    I noticed that once accounts are terminated, in the backup drive the accounts remain there occupying lot of space.

    CMO
     
  2. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    There's a script at http://www.cplicensing.net/scripts.php that does this.

    Name: cleanbackups

    Version: 0.1

    This script cleans up old backups. If some of you have noticed cpanel leaves backups of old accounts that have been terminated. This can comsume valuble space. This script runs thru /var/cpanel/users and compares those users with the cpanel backups. If it finds a backup that does not have a user in /var/cpanel/users it takes whatever action you told it to do (Report, or Delete). This script can be run from cron, this script also checks for cpbackup and sleeps until cpbackup stops.
     
  3. (cmo)

    (cmo) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thank you snickn for the information.

    CMO
     
  4. (cmo)

    (cmo) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    snickn, I am not sure where I should upload the script and if I should change the extension from .txt to .pl

    Please advise.

    CMO
     
  5. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Well,

    I believe it's originally without an extension, if you downloaded it to windows first, it likely received the *.txt.

    You should either remove the extension altogether, or you should change it to *.pl

    After that, chmod a+x the file, and than execute it ./clean_backups
     
Loading...

Share This Page