The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is /Backup on 2nd drive?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jdarow, Jun 25, 2003.

  1. jdarow

    jdarow Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    How would I find out if /backup is on the 2nd drive?

    Via root I did mkdir /backup

    Then, I enabled backup in WHM to /backup.

    I want to makee sure /backup is on the 2nd drive.

    Thanks~

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    df -h

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jdarow

    jdarow Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    root@server [~]# df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda3 55G 3.4G 49G 7% /
    /dev/hda1 99M 9.0M 84M 10% /boot
    none 235M 0 235M 0% /dev/shm

    I don't even see the 2nd drive.

    Kinda new, maybe you could help.

    Thanks for your help~

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. jdarow

    jdarow Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    root@server [~]# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 255 heads, 63 sectors, 7476 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 14 144 1052257+ 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda3 145 7476 58894290 83 Linux

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    No u don't have a second HDD.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. jdarow

    jdarow Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Okay, I will call the data center and tell them, thanks~

    Once I get it installed, what do I have to do in order to setup /backup on the second drive?



    Thanks for your help, it's much appreciated.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    When u'll have the second HDD then mount it as /backup and then configure backup from WHM. See
    man mount
    /etc/fstab /etc/mtab for more details.

    Or simply tell the data centre people to mount that hdd as /backup.

    Regards,

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page