The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is :blackhole: using up disk space?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eugene, Jul 25, 2006.

  1. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    Just wanted to know if :blackhole: is using up my servers disk space. Right now it saids: 333MB. And just last night it said 199 MB.

    If :blackhole: is using up my server space, then where can I delete this file? Or can I delete it?
     
  2. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No, blackhole does not use up server space, but it should not be used. Search for it and you will see all the reasons why not, courtesy of Chirpy. He also has a link on his site about it too.
     
  3. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    I use the :blackhole: because I get about 200 to 300 messages in my mail queue in a 24 hour day. Now that I am using :blackhole: I am only getting less then 100 messages in my mail queue in a 24 hour day.

    Okay, I'll search info about ":blackhole:".
     
  4. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    Okay I read the info here about Fail and Blackhole:
    http://www.configserver.com/free/fail.html

    So how do I change ALL 200+ client's default email addresses to:
    :fail: no such address here

    without doing it one by one thru WHM/cPanel.
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Run the following command at the prompt:
    replace :blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
     
  6. Eugene

    Eugene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    Thank you!

    :D
     
  7. Nic

    Nic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You saved my day!
     
Loading...

Share This Page