The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is CPanel eventually going to add the option of allowing...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Seriom, Jan 7, 2006.

  1. Seriom

    Seriom Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was wondering if CPanel was eventually going to add into their software the option for me as a webhost to let my users add new domains?

    right now there is only addon domains and subdomains, but I want my users to be able to host unlimited domains through one single control panel...sort of like what being a reseller allows (with the drop down domain list), but even with reseller the people have to sign up for multiple accounts

    i just want my users to be able to select "add a new domain" and they can have unlimited domains in one control panel without being in reseller status

    this is a pretty common feature, and a very requested one also
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's already there ..... "parked domains"

    "Addon Domains" lets you add domains to accounts that can be used as distinctly seperate
    web sites from the same web hosting account.

    "Parked Domains" allows you to setup multiple domain names for the same web site
    that each go to the same web site

    "Subdomains" allow you to create a new web site with a subdomain address of any
    domain on the account (IE: "secondary.mydomain.com")

    Your customers can already setup all of these right from their Cpanel control panel and
    they DO NOT need WHM access to do so. They are only limited by the limits you
    specified for their specific hosting account or hosting plan!

    If they cannot setup parked domains, addon domains, or subdomains from their Cpanel
    then you either have restricted their account to not allow extra addresses from your own WHM or
    you failed to enable the manager for each of those features in the "Feature Manager" also
    under your own WHM. Turn it on and the customer can do all of that from their own
    Cpanel control panel and they don't need multiple accounts either!
     
  3. Seriom

    Seriom Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think you are misunderstanding me then

    if I have a customer that signs up for an account with thisdomain.com and then 2 months later wants to add thatdomain.com to his account as a seperate domain, with it's own control panel, it can't be done without creating a whole new username, and then if that clients cancels, i have to manually cancel the other account

    yes, if they want to add a domain and have it pull from a specific folder in their original domains account, it can be done, but clients HATE that....when they want a new domain added with a new control panel,I have to manually sign them up for a new account.

    i dont want to offer the clients "unlimited addon domains", i want to offer them "unlimited domains"

    here is someone else with the same basic question
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=40412

    another person that is wondering the exact same thing
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=45726

    another point is this, other hosts that I have been a part of before buying my own server would give me an ftp login, and when I logged into my ftp I had the ability to work with any domain in my account through that ftp, i would open up the public_html folder and it would look like this
    site1.com
    site2.com
    site3.com
    etc

    someone else with a similar question
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=38507

    another person
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=36383

    and another
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=35082

    see a trend? most of those are exactly the same thing I am asking

    this isn't an uncommon thing really
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I understood perfectly and I am telling you that you already have it !!!

    Not only can the customer add more domains to their account from Cpanel directly
    but they can also create new FTP logins that go just to that specific web space for
    that domain only and the master FTP login for the account can be used if access
    to all web sites is needed under a single FTP account.

    It's already built into Cpanel!

    In example, I have a customer right now that has 11 different websites running
    off of one single web hosting account and he added most all of the other domains
    himself from his Cpanel control panel. Some of the domains are setup as
    subfolders off of his main web site. Some of the domains are in their own
    seperate web space on a seperate FTP account. And finally some are alternate
    domain names for yet another site. He only has 1 single hosting account
    with us and DOES NOT have any reseller WHM access.
     
  5. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    [In relation to Seriom's original concept and not Spiral's suggestion (which popped into the thread whilst I was writing my response)].

    I hear what you're saying, however this sounds very very very similar to a reseller account where overselling is not allowed.

    However this wouldn't really work as intended as, since all of a given user's accounts would be sharing the same resources, they'd need to be able to share the same quotas (so as to present the separate accounts 'transparently' as if they were just one), which certainly wouldn't work right now.

    Although if fixed volumes of resources would be acceptable, then bingo a reseller account would do it - unless I'm missing something really obvious?

    Of course if the end user wants only the option to add what appears to be new domains with their own separate instances of cPanel, they probably don't want the added confusion of WHM - all they'd want is to pick a domain, possibly quotas and limits, and go, as opposed to logging into WHM, going to the right place and adding an account.

    What would work well here, and which could hands-down work (as long as fixed volumes of resources are acceptable), would be a reseller addon for cPanel - a nice fancy icon on the cPanel main page that takes the user to a screen from which they can add/edit/remove accounts.

    This would further work with the illusion that the user has a normal account with which they can create totally separate accounts for other domains.

    Still the problem of the notion of adding/editing/removing 'accounts' spoils the illusion somewhat - so change the presentation in the cPanel addon so that these are called 'independent domains' instead of 'accounts', so that they are mentally grouped alongside 'addon domains' and 'parked domains'.

    What we end up with is a normal reseller account, whereby the user does not have to login to WHM to perform account functions but merely does so through a cPanel addon, and further still the user thinks they are getting separate cPanel instances for separate domains by referring to these as 'independent domains' instead of 'accounts'.

    As the reseller functionality already exists, all you'd need is a (quite simple) cPanel-based front-end for WHM account functions. If only I had the time I'd consider giving this a bash myself.
     
  6. Seriom

    Seriom Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    now THAT sir, is exactly what I am referring to....LOL

    you are dead on with your explanation...and yes, a reseller that didn't have to log into the whm to perform this function would be the exact thing needed
     
  7. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think the rvskin (cpanel theme) alllows multiple cpanel accounts using the "reseller" system.

    Not sure how it all works, but I recall reading about it. Maybe visit their site (rvskin.com) and see how it works? It's for multiple cpanel accounts for one customer.

    Let us know...
     
  8. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    On a somewhat related topic, would anyone know where and how one starts trying to create a legitimate addon for cPanel?

    With relevance to this thread, I'd not have much of a problem creating Perl or PHP scripts that could be executed through a browser and which could offer relevant basic WHM features, however I'm at a total loss as to how one would integrate this with cPanel.

    It wouldn't take too much effort to hack around with the cPanel interface and integrate my own features, however this is (quite obviously) far far from desirable.

    What I'd be looking for is a correct addon that lists in WHM as a feature to add to feature lists and which would then display or not display in cPanel dependent on whether the feature was allowed.

    I'm not looking for a full guide - firstly, that's asking a little too much, and secondly I'd miss out on the challenge of figuring out the fine bits and pieces (and what better way is there to learn?).

    Just a few pointers to get me started would be nice - nothing seems to exist in the WHM docs, and I've tried searching these forums and Google and the like, but all to no avail (quite possibly because I can't be 100% sure what to search for).
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's actually fairly simple. It's just not documented and you have to hack around to get it working.

    Here's a few pointers (giving away the weeks of work I did getting this up and running) using the cPanel Pro API (so cPanel Pro needs to be installed):

    1. Application in WHM itself:

    Check out existing perl CGI scripts in /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/addon_*.cgi

    2. Adding a selectable feature for cPanel accounts:

    Create a new file in /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/addonsfeatures/ with a unique name as:

    /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/addonsfeatures/uniquename

    With:

    Code:
    cpanelpro_unqiuename:This is my cPanel Feature
    To use that feature:

    /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/cells/uniquename.html

    With:

    Code:
    <cpanelfeature cpanelpro_uniquename>
    <cpanelcell align="center" valign="top">
    <td width="75" nowrap><a href="cells/uniquename/index.html"><img border="0" src="cells/uniquename/myapp.gif" width="32" height="32"></a><br>
    <br>
    <a href="cells/uniquename/index.html">My cPanel Feature</a></td>
    </cpanelcell>
    </cpanelfeature>
    /usr/local/cpanel/base/frontend/x/cells/uniquename/index.html contains the calls to your application depending on how you're going to implement it. I'll leave you to work out that bit :p
     
  10. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can someone split this thread and sticky the post from chirpy? It's a good question, and good answer.

    :)
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Can't find a way to do it in vbulletin :eek:

    I might add some more detail and post in on my blog in the next few days ;)
     
  12. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Good idea. It was just recently I found out about /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/addon_*.cgi and now I'm modifying my WHM scripts to be much easier to install.
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Found a post (apologies webignition) that I'm going to post the same reply to which I can sticky ;)

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=48423

    I'm going to have to eat humble pie and apologise for the cross-post, but I think it's excusable in the circumstances :p
     
  14. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You're excused, this time. ;)

    I wish I knew about the addon_ feature earlier.
     
Loading...

Share This Page