The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is cPanel going to update to php5?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jimmysole, Mar 25, 2004.

  1. jimmysole

    jimmysole Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is cPanel going to update to php5?
     
  2. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    When it goes final and is established as stable and secure, I'd imagine so, yes.
     
  3. jimmysole

    jimmysole Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well release candidate 1 has been released and its stable according to Zend
     
  4. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    RC1 does not mean it's stable and for production use. It means it's approaching stability but could still have issues. No-one would recommend an RC for use in a production environment.
     
  5. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
     
  6. jimmysole

    jimmysole Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it is stable enough to mess around with, im not saying cPanel will update for a rc1 but soon it will be the final, and php5 has alot of neat stuff
     
  7. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    You may 'mess around' with your server, but most of us run a business off them.
     
  8. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Maybe for 5.0.2 and or later.
     
  9. jimmysole

    jimmysole Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I run a business to and i wouldnt just mess around with something that wasnt considered STABLE.
     
  10. jimmysole

    jimmysole Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well php 4.3.5 came out and its the stablest version of php to date, is cPanel going to update to that?
     
  11. dewaard

    dewaard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Upgrading to 4.3.5 should be done right now, since its a bugfix release. About PHP 5: stable will be released in 1.5-4 months and I hope cPanel will release two flavors: PHP 4 and PHP 5, since I'm planning to put PHP 4 on one box for certain applications.
     
  12. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Why do we need 2 flavors ? Even now the buildapache installer allows you different php version compiles. So when PHP 5 is added, it can be just another option like other versions.
     
  13. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    4.3.5 is available right now. I just upgraded.
     
  14. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Cool, quite fast. Thanks, upgrading now too!
     
  15. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    casey, if you read my post in another thread, i am stuck in a problem here. Would appreciate some help.

    Fedora with latest stable cpanel

    Using the latest buildapache, i tried to compile apache atleast 5 times, but its not just happening. When i see phpinfo, i see 4.3.3, however when i compile i choose 4.3.4.
    Also none of the modules i selected are installed.

    Any ideas ???
     
  16. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Not good. After rebuild (using WHM) all default option plus the new PHP apache won't start. This is running latest cPanel 9.1 Build 118 :(

    Trying again and if not, going back to 4.3.4.
     
  17. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Reverting to 4.3.4 fixed it. It might be mmcache causing apache not to (re)start :/
     
  18. jimmysole

    jimmysole Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how do you upgrade?
     
  19. Dreamer

    Dreamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    easy apache (update apache in whm)
     
  20. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    anand, you've helped me out so much that I hate to ask this in fears that it might insult you, but are you also checking the "Php Module (Version 4.3.3)" box? (because you have to)
     
Loading...

Share This Page