The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it possible to allow users to upload server-side scripts to server?

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by ahk, Aug 17, 2012.

1. ahk

ahk Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

First of all i am new to cpanel and whm, so if i write something wrong please correct me

Simply I want to let users to upload their php-mysql projects to my server and publish them. But as you can guess there are many things i have to do about security. First of all i have to limit the projects to only work under the project folder and connect only the databases owned by the project owner. These are major requirements and there should be more things i have to do. The problem is that i do not have any idea about how to build such a system with php.

Here is the scenario:

- User will signup to my website: mydomain.com/signup (I think user count will be about a few thousands, i hope so : )
    - I will create a user with cpanel or whm api who has only ftp access to folder: public_html/users/USERNAME So he can upload his php-mysql projects under 'projects' folder. Is this possible with cpanel or whm api?
    - I have to let the user to create databases for his projects and manage them via phpMyAdmin. So user must have cpanel/whm access?
    - Projects can be accessed via: mydomain.com/username/projects/sample-php-mysql-project

URL format and folder names are only samples to help me explain my problem. If there is a better format/solution please let me know.

For a while i am thinking about this but i am not sure if it is possible or not. If it is possible then what kind of hosting package i must buy? Will managed VPS be enough? I am thinking about HostGator's level 3 VPS: /http://www.hostgator.com/vps-hosting/