The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it Possible to have more than 1 account for a domain?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by peace74, Aug 18, 2010.

1. peace74

peace74 Registered

I am new to whm and cpanel sorry.

I presumed that I could set up a new account in whm for a client just to be able to add email accounts, I know how to set up feature lists for a package etc but when I try to create a new account it wont let me.

can I only have one cpanel account for a domain?

Thanks.

2. cPanelJared

cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Parked or addon domains

You can add another domain to an existing account by adding a parked or addon domain. A parked domain is simply a ServerAlias directive in the httpd.conf file. An addon domain is a subdomain that can also be accessed using a domain name.

I recommend the following sections of our documentation:

Parked Domains

Addon Domains

To add a parked or addon domain, the feature list and account limits must allow them for the particular account. Either a parked or addon domain will allow you to create e-mail accounts for the parked or addon domain in the cPanel account.

3. johnburk

johnburk Well-Known Member

Just ignore the cpanel copy and paste answer

If you question is if one domain can have multiple accounts then NO.

cpanel only allows one account per domain. You cannot create sub-accounts giving clients access to cpanel, but with restriction. Although this has been requested several times over the years. Don't expect cpanel to develop this feature.

4. cPanelJared

cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Clarification