The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it stable enough?...

Discussion in 'CloudLinux' started by chrismfz, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. chrismfz

    chrismfz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ...For a daily driver?, CL with cPanel on production servers, usually
    only cPanel on them, not anything else unusual or other repos, on physical servers not VPS?

    In sort, is it mature / ready enough without having big issues and outages
    when updating for example, with any kind of problems (broken packages / misconfigurations etc..) ?

    Anyone using it with success with loosing his sleep? :)
     
  2. oshs

    oshs Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We've been using CloudLinux on a number of servers with zero issues so far.

    Only thing to watch out for - it will slow down busy sites so expect complaints about this from those customers.
     
  3. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Thanks for the valuable info on CL !
     
  4. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We have also been deploying it for awhile for some clients and it works well. AS oshs commented the only "issue" is that clients with busy sites end up getting limited. It is particularly good at helping control servers that run with a high load regularly.
     
  5. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have it on several servers -- we don't have any issues.
     
  6. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We were testing CL on one server (not production) and ran into issues with softaculous. The softaculous cron job core dump'ed under CL. Anyone have similar issues?
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not familiar with the technical workings of Softaculous but core dump in such an environment in my experience has historically been a result of failure to allocate memory (reached memory limit for that cPanel user in this case).

    However, CL also offers limits on entry processes, which means procs spawned by that cron job + simultaneously running website scripts + anything the user is running via SSH (by them logging into SSH, not all processes owned by that user when you do a ps aux) must be <= # of entry processes permitted and if that's not the case new procs spawned wouldn't successfully spawn, but typically those exceptions would be caught by a well-coded script rather than causing a core dump like an abrupt inability to allocate memory would.

    Sounds like it would be worthwhile to submit a ticket to us at cPanel so we can investigate this CloudLinux issue and escalate to the CloudLinux folks ourselves as needed.
     
  8. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    @cPanelDavidG ,

    The cron job runs as root similar to what Fantastico does. It's a daily job to check for updated scripts, download/install them so they are available for customers. We did open a ticket (there were several issues related to the switch from CentOS 5.5 to 5.6) a well as a post on the CL and Softaculous forums. We had to move on and get that server in production, but we do plan on following up to resolve the issue.

    I was simply wondering if anyone else in the community had run into the same problem.
     
  9. mxhostro

    mxhostro Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use CL on some servers and I don't have any errors.
     
  10. praveenkv1988

    praveenkv1988 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trivandrum
    We have tested it on couple of servers and its quite stable. Soon, we will implement on production environments.
     
  11. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hi,

    Did you get to the bottom of the Softaculous problem? What was wrong? Or, what did you have todo to fix it?
     
  12. uhhosting

    uhhosting Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    The only problem we've encountered so far has been increased I/O when UBC memory limits have been enabled.
     

Share This Page