Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is memcached applicable to my cPanel specs?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by googol8080, Oct 23, 2016.

Tags:
  1. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I will implement Memcached to the production site, using a shared hosting package with this kind of specs:


    I/O usage = 512KB/s

    IOPS = 100

    Entry Process = 10

    Number of Processes = 75

    Physical Memory Usage = 256M.00M

    Virtual Memory Usage = 768.00M

    Average visits per day = 100
    Website main function = displaying datas from mysql database.

    Can the Physical Memory handle the Memcached hash tables?

    Can this specs handle Memcached?

    Thank you.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I've moved this post to our Workarounds/Optimization forum.

    It's difficult to estimate the amount of memory required based on website visits alone. I recommend reaching out to a qualified system administrator for assistance, or posting to a website such as StackOverflow, if you are unable to gather additional user-feedback here.

    You may also find this resource helpful:

    ProgrammingFAQ · memcached/memcached Wiki · GitHub

    Thank you.
     
  3. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I already asked to StackOverFlow, but no answers or comments either that's why I directly goes here. My I/OKB/s often times, hits it's limit.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    How can I contact them?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    All listings have links to company websites, you'd contact them thru their website.

    You should speak with your Hosting Provider about this.
     
  7. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    They said either Upgrade my resources or optimize my codes.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sounds reasonable to me. One costs money, the other, your time.

    A website on a VPS with only 100 visits a day running out of resources does seem a bit odd, don't you think? Caching might help load the site faster, but will surely use resources to do it. You could hire someone to look into this for you, as suggested, but that costs money.

    If it's a wordpress site for instance, disabling all plugins and custom themes might be a nice place to start when looking for things causing resource issues and doesn't cost you a penny. Figuring out what's using up your resources is going to be more valuable to you than throwing more money at the problem. If the resources used are needed and acceptable to you, congratulations, it's time to upgrade your account, you've grown out of this one.


    Only you (and your Hosting Provider) know what that site is doing. If I was you I'd start there.
     
  9. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Let me correct you, I am using a shared hosting plan not a VPS, sorry for confusion. My site quite not optimized yet. I have functions that eating the time more for example, making an function to echo html elements, using of password_hash() for Csrf Token, etc, and I working on it now. And I just want to share to you my upgraded shared hosting plan:

    Entry Process = 15

    Number of Processes = 100

    Physical Memory Usage = 512M.00M
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Good luck with this!
     
  11. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you, is memcached applicable to my shared hosting package?
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That's another question for your Hosting Provider. As a Website owner, you wouldn't be able to install anything on the server like that. If they'll do it for you, sure you could make use of it.
     
    googol8080 likes this.
  13. googol8080

    googol8080 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes, thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page