The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is my secondary drive setup correctly?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by the_Dsigner, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. the_Dsigner

    the_Dsigner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I ordered an identical secondary drive to be installed in my dedicated server through my hosting provider. They installed it, but I'm not sure if it was been setup and partitioned correctly. When I look through the server directory I see both a /home with my Cpanel accounts and then a /home2 which is blank with nothing on it. I assumed that was my new drive.

    When I look up the system Status is shows two drive detected.

    i62.tinypic.com/s28dc3.jpg

    If you look at the Physical drive list. sda is the main drive, while sdb is the secondary drive. But down in the current disk usage list I'm only seeing the sda drive not my sdb drive?

    Also if I go the rearrange accounts section and attempt to move my account to the other drive it tells me only one partition exists.
    i58.tinypic.com/2072qet.png

    So did my hosting provider not partition my new drive? I just wanted to make sure before looking further.

    Thanks
     
    #1 the_Dsigner, Jun 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 19, 2015
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    they probably just popped it in leaving you to set it up
    fdisk -l

    will tell you if the drive is installed
     
  3. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Check if secondary disk is attached to the server by using fdisk -l command. IF it is showing secondary disk then check it is partitioned and mounted as /home2 or better fire "mount" command it will show all the partitions which is mounted. It will clear all the picture that secondary disk is partitioned and mounted or not.

    If everything is Ok, then in WHM check Basic Cpanel and WHM settings there you can see Home Directory Prefix and Additional home directories option there you have to set /home2. If you want to create new accounts on secondary disk.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I suggest consulting with your data center or a qualified system administrator if you want assistance with mounting an additional drive on your system. Otherwise, you should read up on fdisk and utilize it to add/mount the additional drive. The following URL is a good place to start:

    https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Disks

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page