The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is PHPsuexec installed?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ozmo, Jul 7, 2007.

  1. ozmo

    ozmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi all,

    I'm new at WHM & cPanel (ex Plesk) and I am just getting used to things. Love it so far.

    Anyhoo, I am installing Fantastico for the first time. How do I or where do I check to see whether PHPsuexec is installed or not?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    ozmo
     
  2. vijeesh

    vijeesh Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Use the command

    grep php /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec

    If you get any o/p, have suexec enabled in your server.
     
  3. ozmo

    ozmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks vijeesh,

    No output in the command line.. however.. whithin WHM I see that suExec is enabled.

    Main >> Service Configuration >> Enable/Disable SuExec

    suExec Status
    enabled

    Now I am confused. Any ideas?
     
  4. _Sam_

    _Sam_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    SuExec and PHPSuExec are too completly different things..

    To check if you are running PHPSuExec upload a PHPinfo file to an account on the server with the following it:

    Code:
    <? phpinfo(); ?>
    and look for server API on it if it says Apache you arent running PHPSuExec if it says CGI you are ;)
     
  5. ozmo

    ozmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Sam.

    I am just in the middle of setting up the accounts. Once I get one done I shall add the php info file.

    In your opinion, generally speaking, is it more common and more secure to run PHPSuExec?
     
  6. _Sam_

    _Sam_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes :) .
     
  7. ozmo

    ozmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Yup API is Apache.

    Alrighty then.....

    Any info on how I can enable / install PHPsuExec?

    Cheers,

    ozmo
     
  8. _Sam_

    _Sam_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    WHM -> Software -> Apache Update

    Load your config and tick the checkbox near the bottom that says PHP suEXEC Support

    And then click start build :)
     
  9. ozmo

    ozmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    :D
    Sam the Man!
    :D
    I am starting to love the features of cPanel. Much more than I could ever of imagined. Especially compared to Plesk.

    Once again, thanks Sam.
     
  10. _Sam_

    _Sam_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Your welcome
     
  11. ozmo

    ozmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    I now have many more questions for which I will create new posts for so as to help other new users in the future.

    Cheers,

    ozmo
     
Loading...

Share This Page