The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is server accessing mail from another Server?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by paramveer, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. paramveer

    paramveer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gurgaon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i have a website was hosted on a server but now i have change its name server and host name as well, i uploaded this website to new server completely but i have not suspended its account in previous whm means its also there all mails and every thing, now i am confused that is this website fetching code or mail from other server because mails are running with previous server ip, how's it possible, am i need to delete the account in last whm or suspend it. I am too confused? what are the necessary things to do when changing server.
     
  2. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It really depends on what your requirements are, but it's generally best to suspend the account on the source server after transfer to prevent new content being written into the account by any remote systems that have cached dns records. The express transfer option does the business

    Copy Multiple Accounts/Packages from Another Server

    Provided you dropped the ttls on your dns records low enough before transfer, this can cause very little in the way of noticeable disruption / accessing of the old sever.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Do you still need the account to exist on the source server? If not, you can terminate it to ensure it's no longer accessed directly over the IP address. Otherwise, if you want to keep the account active on the source server, ensure you edit the "Email Routing" section using "Edit a DNS Zone" in WHM and select "Remote Mail Exchanger".

    Thank you.
     
  4. paramveer

    paramveer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gurgaon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    after suspension its asking password again and again but i have giving the correct user id and password. please reply me ASAP. i want to resolve it.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try using the IP address in the URL when attempting to login and ensure the account is not restricted by cPhulk brute force detection.

    Note: It's important to open a new thread when the issue differs from the original topic.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page