The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a long delay if applying a redirect?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tejas55, Sep 28, 2007.

1. tejas55

tejas55 Member

Ok, today I put an Addon domain to my account. It was successful. Naturally, this addon domain shows up as really a sub domain. I made a folder under my original domain name to put the files for the addon domain. I then redirected the addon domain name to that folder and index.html file. I used a trailing / as instructed. Now, when entering the domain name, it only shows my directory with Parent Directory and cgi-bin directory. It is not going to the index.html page I have pointed to. I've tried everything but it still doesn't go there. I'm totally new at using cpanel for this. Is there supposed to be a long delay before this redirect will happen?

2. mtindor

mtindor Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As soon as you set up the redirect and get the verification that it was done, it should work immediately.

When you go to http://www.yourdomain.com and you see the parent directory and cgi-bin directory, do you _see_ the index.html file in there?

Are you saying that it just isn't _displaying_ the index.html file but it is there in the directory?

Mike

3. tejas55

tejas55 Member

No, I actually don't see the index.html file, just the parent directory and cgi-bin dir. If index.html was actually there, I guess it would display and not be listed. I must be still doing something wrong. I know I uploaded the index file twice into the new folder I made under my original domain.

4. tejas55

tejas55 Member