Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Is there a way to set /dev/null to :fail:?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackie46, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    We have a bunch of people who have set /dev/null. We also have a bunch of people who have set various combinations of blackhole and fail to things like;

    blackhole:
    :blackhole
    blackhole
    fail:
    :fail
    fail
    /dev/null

    I used the replace command on the server to correct it;

    replace :blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace :blackhole :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace :fail :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace fail: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*

    BUT there are a bunch of people who have set it to /dev/null

    Is there a way to use the replace command to set /dev/null to :fail:?

    replace /dev/null :fail: -- /etc/valiases/* does not fix it.
     
    #1 jackie46, Apr 23, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2006
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That ought to do it. This is what I use as a first pass:

    Code:
    replace :blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace :blackhole :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace blackhole :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace " fail:" " :fail:" -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace /dev/null :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    cd /etc/valiases/
    grep fail * | grep -v " :fail:"
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. IRCBrasil

    IRCBrasil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    my are set to *: :fail: no such address here

    there are some problem? if yes, how i chante to only :fail: ?

    Thank you!
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's correct. The actual entry in /etc/valiases/domain file should be:

    *: :fail:

    which is what you have.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice