The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a way to set /dev/null to :fail:?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackie46, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We have a bunch of people who have set /dev/null. We also have a bunch of people who have set various combinations of blackhole and fail to things like;

    blackhole:
    :blackhole
    blackhole
    fail:
    :fail
    fail
    /dev/null

    I used the replace command on the server to correct it;

    replace :blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace :blackhole :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace :fail :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace fail: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*

    BUT there are a bunch of people who have set it to /dev/null

    Is there a way to use the replace command to set /dev/null to :fail:?

    replace /dev/null :fail: -- /etc/valiases/* does not fix it.
     
    #1 jackie46, Apr 23, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2006
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That ought to do it. This is what I use as a first pass:

    Code:
    replace :blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace :blackhole :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace blackhole: :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace blackhole :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace " fail:" " :fail:" -- /etc/valiases/*
    replace /dev/null :fail: -- /etc/valiases/*
    cd /etc/valiases/
    grep fail * | grep -v " :fail:"
    
     
  3. IRCBrasil

    IRCBrasil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    my are set to *: :fail: no such address here

    there are some problem? if yes, how i chante to only :fail: ?

    Thank you!
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's correct. The actual entry in /etc/valiases/domain file should be:

    *: :fail:

    which is what you have.
     
Loading...

Share This Page