The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there any major risks running, up2date

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, May 16, 2003.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need to update a kernal from a remote location using "up2date"

    Anyone do this without any problems?

    Anything I should be weary of?

    Thanks, Charles
     
  2. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No I think it is safe to do that, if on RH 7.3 it is wery easy. If on 7.2 make sure the up2date rpm is latest version, because it used to complain because WHM do update most RPMs, and up2date had a problem with it.

    Just remove kernel* from wich packages not to update in /etc/sysconfig/rhn/up2date and run up2date -u.

    At least that is what I do but DON'T blame me if shit hits the fan:)
    Anyway have done this a good no of times.
     
  3. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If using -u make sure you don't update perl, apache and php. I would just do
    #up2date kernal
    Only upgrade one thing at a time. jd-waverly has a nice how-to at Rackshack forums. Worked well for lots of people.
     
  4. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why not upgrade Perl? I never could understand what the cpanel install is doing with Perl, because it sure is not removing the difrent Perl rpm's? So we are using them right? SO why not upgrade then?

    Apache and PHP shuld not be a problem because they shuld not be installed on the server the first place - as RPM that is. Apache and PHP is from sorce code.

    Anyway I always do a up2date -u and as far as I know nothing crached yet:) You now some rpms cpanel update don't care about, but still it is a good thing to upgrade them.

    Would be intersting to know about Perl then?
     
  5. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just repeating what i heard about perl, I do note that cPanel upgrades PERL anyway. I do have apache and php rpms on my server, it came with them. One day I'll rpm -e them.
     

Share This Page