The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there ANY way to access a secondary FTP acount from IE on Windows ???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mpierre, Sep 4, 2003.

  1. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have clients who give temporary FTP access to suppliers to retrieve files or to post files.

    Each supplier gets his own FTP access, often for only a few days.

    Most of the supplier use Internet Explorer as an FTP client.

    BUT, since a secondary ftp account is of the forom : ftpusername@domain.com, IE doesn't work !!!

    I have tried ALL solutions on the board :

    ftp://ftpusername@domain.com

    ftp://ftpusername+domain.com:password@domain.com

    ftp://domain.com and fill in with ftpusername@domain.com and with ftpusername+domain.com.

    I have tried with and without passive FTP.

    I have tried with and without web folders activated.

    I tried using web folders.

    NO LUCK AT ALL.

    Is there anyway at all to connect with IE on Windows XP ?

    Oddly enough, it seems to work with IE on Mac !!!

    Is there ANYTHING we can do ????

    We are using Pro-FTP and do not wish to switch to PureFtp.

    And manually changing the usernames in Root shell is NOT an option : We will spend most of time doing so !

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    could it be the version of IE they are using?

    I have Windows SE, ME, 2000, and XP all using IE 6.0 with sp1 service pack. All work fine when entering ftp.website.com
    Information entered to login
    username@website.com and password

    I have one server using proftp and the others use pureftp
    neither one makes a difference.

    Also check to see if they are using IE as self and not IE integrated with an ISP software. Sometimes that can cause conflicts.

    This of course is through the creation of an FTP account and not anonymous.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. dolphyn

    dolphyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think this is only an issue with shared-IP accounts. Have you tried setting up a dedicated IP for one of these domains?
     
  4. toygeek

    toygeek Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  5. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    I have several accounts using FTP and they are all on shared IP so im betting at this has to do with the browser.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Do they have a firewall running when trying to access FTP through IE? Talking to a client a few hours ago and said that when using IE as an FTP he has to tell his firewall to except transactions through the server.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am also betting this is with the Browser, since it works with IE on Mac !

    But my clients of course do not all have a Mac ready ( I sure don't... only one of my graphic designers has one ).

    I tried it without my firewall, with no success.

    I will try it with a dedicated IP tomorrow.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a "true" IE. 6.0.2600

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I guess it is not possible...

    I haven't heard from anybody.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. toygeek

    toygeek Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you read what I wrote? I've had it work. If you want me to try, setup a test account and I'll give you the link to login to it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ftp://username%40domain.com:password@domain.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Annette !!!

    It works.

    Why is it that you always seem to have the answer where others are clueless ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. paralard

    paralard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    Just to add the client needs to have
    "Use Passive FTP" and "Enable
    FTP Folder View" enabled under IE Tools/Internet Options/ Advanced.

    In order for it to work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page