The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this a Bug on cPanel / MySQL users?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Silent Ninja, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    When you create MySQL Users on the cPanel, you cannot set to them any super privilege like LOAD DATA INFILE or EXECUTE PROCEDURE, and such advanced stuff that almost no one uses on a Basic Hosting.

    Although a client just told me that from the phpMyAdmin (logged in as the cPanel user) he endeed created a Procedure and was able to execute it there, but since the MySQL Client hasn't this privilege, he is not available to use it on his site.

    If theese privileges are not available for mysql users, they should also be disabled for the cPanel user's; or viceversa, if they can be enabled (ie. if it's not a security issue), it should be possible to enable those privileges to MySQL Users from the cPanel.

    That way, procedures either would, or would not be used (respectively between both cases) and that should affect both the main cPanel user and the dependent MySQL users.
     
    #1 Silent Ninja, Oct 14, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2010
  2. d_t

    d_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucharest
    You can set EXECUTE if you use mysql wizard from cPanel.
     
  3. Silent Ninja

    Silent Ninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Sure, just tell me where to click...
    [​IMG]
    (It's in spanish, I'm sorry for that)
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    EXECUTE only appears as a privilege in the MySQL Database Wizard rather than in the regular MySQL Databases area. Also, it doesn't actually work to enable that option in the wizard in 11.26 versions.

    Here's a thread discussing this issue:

    MySQL EXECUTE privilege - cPanel Forums
     
Loading...

Share This Page