The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is This A BUG or WHAT !!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dadeyoo, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. dadeyoo

    dadeyoo Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you know that if you change the first letter of your resellers User/name to a CAP and use your ROOT P/W to login it Will go to Your ROOT WHM contorl panel !!
    But if you don't change it to a Cap It will go to there Contorl Panel !!

    Frank
    EDIT
    I know that if you use Root P/W you can login to any user acount !!
    But why does it go to ROOT WHM and Not User WHM If you Change the First Letter of the user to a CAP!!!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: :confused:
     
    #1 dadeyoo, Aug 8, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2003
  2. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    With root password you can login with any username.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have no idea what led you to try that out, Frank, but it is a most interesting find and exactly correct!

    Although some may say it's a bug, unless someone knows the 'root' PW they are SOL for accessing the Server WHM -- and if an un-authorized person does know the 'root' PW, then someone else is SOL and we know who! :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Warning: You are logged in using the reseller or root password

    My question is why does the reseller name come up? does this mean that resellers can log into their clients cpanel as well... I thought that this was only for root incase of a problem...!
     
    #4 pagedeveloping, Aug 8, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2003
  5. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    You can login to any user WHM but if you are using a username instead of root + root password you should log in to the reseller WHM and not root.

    It is not a big problem but it will be better if fixed.

    I believe you are trying to log in to cpanel and not WHM Reseller as dadeyoo said. Aren't you?

    Also you have to rename the reseller username to make the first letter capital.
     
    #5 mmkassem, Aug 8, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2003
  6. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    what just happened here?

    I went to add on more to make my question a little bit more clear and half my post wen to you mmkassem!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    Sure Resellers can log in to their clients cpanel accounts. The topic is about WHM by the way.

    well the first post came not half of your post. ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    actually you'll find that if you login as any incorrect username (non-existant or incorrect case) and use the root pass then it'll take you into the root whm.

    according to nick this was once necessary for one reason or another but perhaps isn't so anymore. I did mention it but it seems to be still there so I guess its a) still needed or b) been forgotten about.

    If you have secure passwords this shouldn't be an issue. Afterall if you're trying to gain root access I think 99.9% of people know that the superuser account is called 'root' on *nix :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    True. Anyone wanting to hackin already knows the username. That's why passwords need to be complex and changed regularly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page