The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is This A DDos Attack?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Baris, Sep 11, 2007.

1. Baris

Baris Member

Hi,

Nowadays my server frequently has a high load but i cant find what causes this.I am using an AMD Dual Core Dual Opteron 275 CPU with 2 GBs of RAM.

I am using CSF and here is the mail sent from CSF at the moment of high load.cPanel said at ticket that this is a ddos attack.Is it right? :(

http://www.bilhost.com/load.txt

2. benfish

benfish Well-Known Member

I'm no expert, but it looks like it could be. cPanel are experts though, and are most likely right.

During the high load, do you have problems connecting to the server and/or slow download speeds?

Ben

3. Baris

Baris Member

When the load is high we cant access the sites but i can access the server via ssh.When i stop apache it goes low.But when i open it again it goes high.But it is so strange because CSF doesnt ban anyone at the high load time.Also i dont do anything other than restarting apache several times.Then it returns normal itself..

4. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That doesn't appear to be an email from CFS to me.

5. java_dude

java_dude Active Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Run this command and see if there is anyone connected with an excessive amount of connections:

Code:
    netstat -tn --inet 2> /dev/null| grep ":80" | awk '/tcp[\ ]*[0-9]+[\ ]*[0-9]+[\ ]+[^\ ]+[\ ]*[^\ ]*/ { print $5; }' | cut -d":" -f1 | sort | uniq -c | sort -n
    Do you have any PHP/MySQL scripts on your server? If so, do you have nay cache software like APC? I had a similar issue with my forum a couple of years ago and installing eaccelerator helped tremendously. :)

6. Baris

Baris Member