The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is this normal or has something broke

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by silvernetuk, Dec 28, 2002.

  1. silvernetuk

    silvernetuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have notice that if I use the root password and a username on the system I can access the account for that username is this right ?

    Regards,
    Garry
     
  2. silvernetuk

    silvernetuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thank god for that I was a bit worried then for a while D'OH (lol)

    Thank you thaphantom :)

    Regards,
    Garry
     
  3. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:cc568419aa][i:cc568419aa]Originally posted by silvernetuk[/i:cc568419aa]Hi,

    I have notice that if I use the root password and a username on the system I can access the account for that username is this right ?

    Regards,
    Garry[/quote:cc568419aa]Although that is how WHM/Cpanel works, it is important to remember that if you are accessing Cpanel using this method [b:cc568419aa]your IP address is going to show[/b:cc568419aa] where it says &Last login& and may have your Client thinking &they have& been hacked. So you will need to know how to handle that situation. I inform my Clients of this in the &Welcome& eMail so they know from the start.

    WHM doesn't show &Last login& so need to worry there.
     
  4. silvernetuk

    silvernetuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Website Rob,

    Thank you for letting me know that :)

    Regards,
    Garry
     
  5. EasyHostSolutions

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is this a feature or bug?

    It does not work for me, tried ftp, cpanel and whm, my root password, works for root only. No other usernames.
     
Loading...

Share This Page