The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is xfs needed?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GoWilkes, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since June, my firewall is giving me a ton of reports that xfs is using an excessive amount of resources. Literally, a ton; I've gotten just over 2000 emails on it! :)

    I understand that it's the font server for X, and can be turned off if I'm not using X. But, umm... what the heck is X, and how do I know if I'm using it? Not surprisingly, a google search for "X" doesn't exactly give me the information I need! LOL

    TIA,

    Jason
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Assuming by firewall you mean CSF, have you run the Check Server Security test? There is a message there about XFS:

     
  4. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I was having the same issue. Thanks to this thread it have been solved. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page