The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Issue adding DNS server to cluster

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by jeremys_ppc, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. jeremys_ppc

    jeremys_ppc Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We have setup 4 DNS Only servers using cPanel DNS only. I have clustered these servers to our cPanel servers without incident except for one. One of our cPanel servers is getting an error when adding the last DNS server, though it added fine to all the other cPanel servers without problem. The error is "There was an error while processing your request: Cpanel::PublicAPI returned [Could not connect to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:2087: Network is unreachable]". I can access the DNS server over 2087 so I'm not sure why this error is being thrown.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    - - - Updated - - -

    BTW I saw something in another thread about CPHulk, but that is not the issue. I have already flushed the database for CPHulk and added all our cPanel servers to the IP whitelist.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Do you have any firewall rules enabled on that cPanel server or any of the DNS-Only servers that could be restricting traffic between them?

    Thank you.
     
  3. jeremys_ppc

    jeremys_ppc Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    AFAIK the only firewall rules are the default ones that was installed with the cPanel or cPanel DNS only script. I did try pinging the DNS server (via both hostname and IP) from my cPanel server and it states "Do you want to ping broadcast? Then -b" so something weird is going on. I did an ifconfig and sure enough the Bcast address for around 10 ip's are incorrect. I tried rebuilding the address pool but it didn't seem to do anything.

    Any idea how to get these IPs to get the correct information?
     
  4. jeremys_ppc

    jeremys_ppc Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After researching the issue I determined that these were set in the /etc/alias file. I modified that file to the correct broadcast address and then restarted the network service and everything is working correctly now.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page