The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Issue changing site's IP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by txitcs, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. txitcs

    txitcs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm trying to setup a SSL cert on a domain...but when I go to change the site's IP address to a dedicated IP the website stops working and goes to the default CPanel page like when you do a fresh install.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. empresive

    empresive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Check to make sure that you had added dedicated ip to site/package. Also make sure your nameservers are correct.
     
  3. Voltar

    Voltar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bakersfield, California
    Did you give it enough time for the DNS to propagate?

    Possibly lower the TTL of the DNS record, wait a bit, then change the IP, and change the TTL back to normal if you wish.

    Also, did you try flushing your DNS cache on your local machine?
     
  4. linux.newbie

    linux.newbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Try http://IP and see if it pulls up your site.
    If so, then it is a propagation issue, give it some more time, refresh the cache of your browser (maybe a reboot of system and modem) and check again
     
  5. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Or visit the site from a different ISP provider, most of the DNS cache is ISP related.

    One way we use to check it is go to http://youhide.com proxy server and see if it resolves properly form there. If so you know you have an ISP DNS cached issue on your local system, just got to wait it out at that point or put it in your hosts file in windows.
     
Loading...

Share This Page