The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Issue when transfering accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tsak, Apr 19, 2012.

  1. tsak

    tsak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello. I dont know if this is the correct section so please transfer it to the correct one.

    I am trying to transfer cpanel accounts from one cpanel server to an other. Both servers are running WHM 11.32.2 (build 18).

    All are good except the part with the DNS Zone and the subdomains.
    I am getting the following error:
    Restoring Addon Domain...domain.com (domain.com)...Sorry, An error occurred while adding dns zone.....Done

    Is this a known issue? Or how i can fix it.
    I need to transfer around 1000 cpanel accounts really fast because the old server is going to expire in 24hours.

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you checked if the already transferred addon domains have their dns zone files exists on new server. If answer is yes then you need not have to worry about this error.
     
  3. tsak

    tsak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am transfering the accounts from my old server to a new cpanel server i just got. There are no accounts on the new server
     
  4. JayFromEpic

    JayFromEpic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Double check to make sure there isn't any co-related DNS zones on the new server. The transfer script might have had an error.
     
  5. tsak

    tsak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There are no dns zones. I checked using ssh.
     
  6. Huib

    Huib Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Í'm currently busy with moving all our dedicated servers to a cloud and we get the same error, but all DNS zones are created as they should... So I guess all is fine?
     
  7. matrafox

    matrafox Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. matrafox

    matrafox Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check the thread "Can't migrate accounts" If anyone find a solution should post it here/there. This is a bug and is annoying.

    "huib" have you check apache conf also ?
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience this is causing. Please note that this only occurs when copying an account through WHM. As such, you could instead loop packaging on the source machine and then loop restoring on the destination machine:

    1. Package the accounts in screen in a loop:

    Code:
    screen
    cat /etc/trueuserdomains | cut -d: -d' ' -f2- > /root/usernames
    for i in `cat /etc/trueuserdomains | cut -d: -d' ' -f2-` ;do /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/pkgacct $i ;done
    2. Copy over the files to the new machine:

    Code:
    scp -pr /root/usernames root@newserver:/root
    scp -pr /home/cpmove-* root@newserver:/home
    3. Restore the files on the new machine:

    Code:
    screen
    for i in `cat /root/usernames` ;do /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/restorepkg $i ;done
    Thanks!
     
  10. Brian

    Brian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I wanted to further clarify that this bug only occurs if the cPanel Dns Admin Cache Service is enabled on the server and the migration is performed through WHM.

    Accordingly, a temporary work around for this bug is to temporarily disable the cPanel Dns Admin Cache Service on the Destination cPanel server, transfer the account(s) desired, and then turn that service back on.

    In other words:

    [1] On the DESTINATION server, go to WHM -> Service Manager
    [2] Uncheck both boxes for "cPanel Dns Admin Cache Service" (remember what you had checked, though)
    [3] Transfer the account(s) desired
    [4] Go back and re-check your previously checked boxes for that service.

    Alternatively, you can choose to use /scripts/pkgacct and /scripts/restorepkg to manually copy accounts without having to touch the Dns Admin Cache Service settings (just as cPanelTristan has already outlined).
     
  11. darrencain

    darrencain Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England ( EU )
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    dnsadmin - cPanel Dns Admin Cache Service

    On my VPS it's already unchecked. Still getting the error above.
     
  12. Brian

    Brian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you see the process 'dnsadmin - server mode' in the server's process list? If so, it is indeed still running. If it is running, you can stop it with:

    /scripts/restartsrv_dnsadmin --stop

    If that process is NOT running on your server and you are still experiencing this error, please open a ticket (see my signature) and cite this forum post so we can further investigate. Thus far the only situation in which we've reproduced this error is with the dnsadmin caching service running. If it is occurring under different circumstances, we'd definitely like to know and be able to gather more information on it.
     
  13. darrencain

    darrencain Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    England ( EU )
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The process is NOT running.

    I have already opened a ticket ( 2543182 ).
     
  14. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I get my cPanel/WHM through SingleHop so I cannot open a ticket but I am having the same issue and my dnsadmin was never running. I am on WHM 11.32.5 (build 11) though so not sure if this has been fixed but I am having major problems.

    I have 160 sites to move if anyone is interested I am willing to pay for this as I am by no means qualified to work with SSH and need help bad!
     
  15. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have root WHM and root SSH access on the machine, you should be able to open up a ticket with us. There should be an option in WHM > Support Center called Contact cPanel there. If there isn't, please use the link in my signature to submit a ticket.

    Of note, we cannot transfer your entire machine to another one, but we can help to troubleshoot one or two accounts transferring to determine what is happening and correct it.
     
  16. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you, a Single Hop support tech opened a ticket yesterday.
     
Loading...

Share This Page