Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Issue with installing cPanel locally

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mdsmith98, Mar 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mdsmith98

    mdsmith98 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.

    I am new here, and I am having an issue installing cPanel and WHM on my server.

    I keep getting the following error:
    (FATAL): The installation process was unable to synchronize cPanel & WHM. Verify that your network can connect to httpupdate.cpanel.net and rerun the installer.


    I have been stuck on this issue for days, I cannot figure this out for the life of me.

    I am trying to install on CentOS 7 on a server I am hosting from home. If anyone can help me, that would be fantastic.
     
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make sure you have set resolvers in /etc/resolv.conf file , are you able to ping httpupdate.cpanel.net on your server where you are installing cpanel ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    What happens if you run:

    Code:
    # host httpupdate.cpanel.net
    Output of:

    Code:
    # cat /etc/resolv.conf
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. mdsmith98

    mdsmith98 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I do have resolvers set, it's output will be in this reply towards the bottom when I reply to the second post. I also am able to pint httpupdate.cpanel.net without any packet loss.


    Running host httpupdate.cpanel.net has 25 lines of httpupdate.cpanel.net has address (ip address here). All 25 lines have a different IP address at the end.

    The output is:

    Code:
    ; generated by /usr/sbin/dhclient-script
    search example.local
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    nameserver 208.184.x.xx
    nameserver 208.104.xxx.xxx
     
    #4 mdsmith98, Mar 17, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 17, 2017
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Do you have any firewall rules enabled on the system that could be filtering traffic to the cPanel update servers? You can review the instructions on disabling your firewall at:

    Installation Guide - System Requirements - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    If the issue persists, feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here and we will update this thread with the outcome.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. mdsmith98

    mdsmith98 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I followed your guide on disabling my firewall, and still the same error.

    As for the support ticket, how would I go about obtaining a Support Access ID? I saw in your signature it said how to open a support ticket and it said the support access id is in WHM, but I don't have access to WHM since I can't get it to install.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can send an email directly to cs[@]cpanel.net and our Customer Service Department can forward the request over to our Technical Support Department.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice