The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Issue with temp folder (and Wordpress) after update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aolbrechts, Apr 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. aolbrechts

    aolbrechts Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    There recently has been an update on my server (with WHM/cPanel) and now all Wordpress web site have an issue when updating or adding media files : there seem to be no temp folder available.

    As this used to always work fine, not sure what has changed and what I should do to fix this.

    I've connected to the server and check, there is a tmp folder at the root of the server with correct permission, but still.

    Thanks for your ideas,
    Antoine
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @aolbrechts,

    Please review the following threads to determine if your system is affected by either of the referenced bugs:

    In Progress - php session timeout since 64.0 update
    Custom PHP Session Handler

    If not, please post the output from the following commands:

    Code:
    cat /etc/redhat-release
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    rpm -qa|grep cagefs
    /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/bin/php -i|grep session.save
    /opt/cpanel/ea-php70/root/usr/bin/php -i|grep session.save
    Thank you.
     
  3. aolbrechts

    aolbrechts Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I manually edited the php.ini to set a temp folder and it seems it's OK now.
    Not sure why this has changed since yesterday.

    Antoine
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Antoine,

    While manually editing the session.save_path path acts as a workaround, I recommend investigating to determine why the new value was not working on your system (the change improves security). You can read more about the changes to the session.save_path PHP value in cPanel 64 on the following document:

    MultiPHP INI Editor for WHM - Version 64 Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
  5. aolbrechts

    aolbrechts Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had to specify the /tmp directory so it isn't in the MultiPHP INI Editor, I had to go manually in the editor mode.
    >> upload_tmp_dir = /tmp

    Should be OK now, I guess.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It seems that's unrelated to the new session path. I'm happy to see the issue is now addressed. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
  7. aolbrechts

    aolbrechts Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've always been mentioning the temp folder, not session path.
    It's OK, now.
     
  8. Shixons

    Shixons Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I'm having the exact same issue, upload_tmp_dir appears as "no value" with php_info(), was just after cPanel update that all the Wordpress installations on the server started to malfunction, they can't update or upload media files, all because the tmp directory issue, how can I fix this?

    Note: I'm using PHP-FPM if that matters.

    EDIT: I've changed the setting upload_tmp_dir using the PHP INI Editor to "/tmp" as @aolbrechts said and now everithing is working again, but I don't think this is the right and safest aproach, so it would be nice if someone can explain why this is hapening with the cPanel update.
     
    #8 Shixons, Apr 21, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you verify which version of cPanel your system was updated "from" and "to"? Also, did you recently update to EasyApache 4, or was that utilized before the cPanel update?

    Thank you.
     
  10. Shixons

    Shixons Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Where can I check from which version I updated from?, it updated to 64.0.15 and I have been using Easy Apache 4 for more than a year.
     
  11. fate12

    fate12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Exact same issue here after Cpanel update.
    Current version is 64.0 build 17.
    We've had complaints from customers on several servers, we have yet to check them all.

    Edit: I changed the upload dir in the php editor to /tmp, restarted apache but the phpinfo.php still shows 'no value'.
     
    #11 fate12, Apr 26, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2017
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could anyone facing this issue verify what method was used to make the change to the upload_tmp_dir PHP configuration value prior to encountering this error message? Or, was it simply always left unconfigured? Also, what's configured in the /var/cpanel/php-fpm.d/$username.conf file for the affected account (specifically the php_admin_value[upload_tmp_dir] and env[TMPDIR] values)?

    Would you mind opening a support ticket using the link in my signature, and posting the ticket number here? We'd like to take a closer look at an affected system to see if we can determine the change that resulted in this issue.

    Thank you.
     
  13. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In version 11.62 and earlier, the upload_tmp_dir script is set to default. No directory is specified and it works fine.

    It is possible that the default path has changed in the last version.
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you review /var/cpanel/php-fpm.d/$username.conf for an account affected by the issue and verify what's configured for the "php_admin_value[upload_tmp_dir]" and "env[TMPDIR]" values?

    Thank you.
     
  15. Shixons

    Shixons Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Mine is "/home/$username/tmp" for both.
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Would you mind opening a support ticket using the link in my signature, and posting the ticket number here? We'd like to take a closer look at an affected system to see if we can determine the change that resulted in this issue.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page