The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Issue With Wildcards

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Host99, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. Host99

    Host99 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Why would cpanel make the wild card domains harder then it should be.

    When you have a large database over 5000 clients who are using sub domains and everytime they want to create a sub domain to meet the wild card then they have to request for us to do this for them since they are not resellers and do not have access to whm.

    This means more work, more ips (more spent money) which i think is very aggravating for us web hosts. Which means customers do not want to pay for extra ips and we will be out that costs as well or lose the customer

    Is there a NEAR future turn around for this problem?

    Hope someone can shed some light on this.
     
    #1 Host99, Sep 19, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2008
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you attempted to create wildcard subdomains by simply creating a subdomain of *.example.com (where example.com is the domain)?

    This capability was added in recent builds of cPanel/WHM. If this is not functioning for you, please provide your complete cPanel/WHM version information.
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wild card subdomain creation is supported in all versions of cPanel 11 (please note that some older builds of cPanel 11 would mis-handle the creation of such).
     
  4. Host99

    Host99 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What I meant was why does each sub domain have to have its own cpanel account with its own ip address to install a wildcard ssl

    This means more money for the host due to ips costs and the customer does not want to pay for the ip for their sub domain when this is the main reason why they purchase a wildcard to avoid such thing.

    Also it is more work for our employees and the customer has to request each time they want a sub domain and ip because they do not have reseller access.

    And we have to move all files for that sub domain which usually takes about 2 to 4 hours to do, due to they have to be reconfigured and setup.

    We run ecommerce hosting

    Our database is way to large to be doing such things and this will not work for us

    We are wanting to know why doesn't the wild card work off the same domain same ip as the main account where the work load is very little and the customer can go on about their business and have the wildcard.

    This saves the host money on ips and work loads for employees hours and such things were we can attend to other support and jobs we have.

    Are you planning to make the wildcards with the main account where it works on one cpanel account and one ip and not a server full of sub domains?
     
  5. Host99

    Host99 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Right now we have to do the folowing according to our server tech

    You would need to create a subdomain for *.host-99.com then install the wildcard SSL for *.host-99.com then create the subdomains billing and www. But if you want billing to resolve to one directory and www to resolve to another directory then each will have to be have its own dedicated IP. Otherwise you would have to manually edit it or use an include to add the additional VirtualHost.

    We do not want to do this we just want to install the cpanel account with one ip and the wildcard not a bunch of sub domains and pointless ips applied for one customer
     
  6. blargman

    blargman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Have you tried creating a subdomain in Cpanel then just applying the wildcard cert in WHM(install ssl cert section),(modifying the domain name to the subdomain in question). This should work. There's no reason each subdomain needs to be on it's own ip. It just need's it's own unique virtualhost. The install function in WHM should create this.
     
  7. Host99

    Host99 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried that. It will not work, WHM errors that a SSL has already been installed for the IP that the account is using.
     
  8. blargman

    blargman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Heh, well, sorry I've tried it on separate ip's before. I suppose there is nothing keeping you from changing the ip in WHM. Installing the cert and changing it back. :) Dunno how much that would effect Cpanel, but it would work.
     
  9. d_t

    d_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Don't create subdomain *.host-99.com Create just billing subdomain and install wildcard certificate on it. It shoud work.

    The error you received is because it can be only one SSL certificate on an IP (is a SSL restriction, not cPanel).
     
Loading...

Share This Page