Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Issues Uploading Website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JGD101871, Oct 18, 2018.

1. JGD101871

JGD101871 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I am new to cPanel. I created a website for my Dad and uploaded it and the site simply won't display. The FTP client won't connect, even after tediously checking and rechecking the settings. I used the file manager, uploaded all of the files into the htdocs directory as it told me to, tried to check if the site was live and I just get "Problem Loading Page".
    I read in some forums suggestions of creating a public_html directory, so tried that, no dice.
    Never have I had such a problem uploading files and getting them to go live.
    The site is HTML using CSS. I uploaded all files and directories exactly as they should be, I am not new at this.
    This is beyond frustrating and bordering on ridiculous that something so simple as uploading files to a server is so bloody convoluted to get the site working.
    Any help with this would be appreciated.

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure what docs you're reading but users do not upload files to that directory. Do you have root access to this server your account is on or do you have a cPanel account on a server managed by some company?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. JGD101871

JGD101871 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is on the Getting Started area of the control panel;