Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Issues with cPanel Solo directory structure

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jeffschips, May 22, 2018.

Tags:
  1. jeffschips

    jeffschips Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    new york
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Generally when creating directory and domain structures with WHM you have the following layout:

    /home/domainname/public_html/public_html_files_go_here

    as well in the "domainname" directory cotnains non-public_html files required for proper operation, such as mail, spamassassin, ssl directories and sensitive files, etc.

    Enter CPanel/WHM "Solo" product which uses "add on domains".

    Great, except I'm confused: All add-on domains look like this:

    /home/main_account_domain_name/public_html/addondomain.com/public_html/

    is the "addondomain.com" directory the equivalent of the "domainname" directory in WHM/Cpanel non-solo products?

    Also, when extracting, for example, joomla install files into the "public_html" directory of the solo product, I receive a 503 Service Unavailable error. Removing those joomla files and installing an index.php file as the sole file in the directory which php info tags also produces such an error, but an index.html does not.

    The .htaccess file in the directory states not to edit it (and even if I do making the php files the first to be used I still get a 503 service unavailable error) and use the cpanel fpm files for configuration.

    In that area I see that ea-php70 with fpm turned on.

    I have no such problems using the standard WHM/Cpanel product (non-solo product).

    It should also be noted that I receive such errors whether or not I change the Domain - Addon Domains - Document Root to a subdirectory or the public_html directory.
     
  2. jeffschips

    jeffschips Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    new york
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update: here is the apache error_log:

    [Tue May 22 23:05:50.662700 2018] [proxy:error] [pid 4214] (2)No such file or directory: AH02454: FCGI: attempt to connect to Unix domain socket /opt/cpanel/ea-php70/root/usr/var/run/php-fpm/c258cab838475ff249a9027ebf715f972.sock (*) failed
    [Tue May 22 23:05:50.662808 2018] [proxy_fcgi:error] [pid 4214] [client xx.xx.xx.xx:45300] AH01079: failed to make connection to backend: httpd-UDS
     
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The addon domains in solo work in the same manner that they do in standard cPanel /home/user/public_html/addondomain.tld is the standard configuration for these.

    I'm not sure what is causing this it sounds like the issue is more so a PHP-FPM error than anything we do have a current issue that affects v70 CPANEL-20179 in which PHP-FPM fails to set up properly on new accounts. Restarting PHP-FPM should be the solution for this and you can do this with the following:
    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_apache_php_fpm
    Can you show me the .htaccess portions you're referencing here? You can do this by running the following:
    Code:
    cat .htaccess
    You should also be able to disable PHP-FPM if you don't want to use it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jeffschips

    jeffschips Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    new york
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you I discovered that I could simply turn off and then back on again php-fpm and it would work.

    But one last question. When I asked, above, ". . . are the "addondomain.com" directory the equivalent of the "domainname" directory in WHM/Cpanel non-solo products?" I meant is the standard non-solo cpanel/whm setup with its directory structure as such:

    /home/ACCOUNTNAME/

    then what directory exactly is the *equivalent* in terms of *permissions* and usage in the solo product?

    Is it the

    /home/top-level-domain-name-directory

    *or*

    /home/top-level-domain-name-directory/public_html directory?
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @jeffschips

    The default path for an addon domain (creating one without changing anything) is /home/user/public_html/addondomain.tld/ this is the default document root and where all site files should exist for the addon domain. This would be the equivalent on /home/$user/public_html for the primary domain.

    I hope that helps answer your question.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice