The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Issues With Memcached When Running With Socket

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dradden45, Feb 10, 2016.

  1. Dradden45

    Dradden45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have been working on getting Railgun up and running which requires memcached. I have memcached installed and running and it works fine when running and listening on port. But when changing things up and trying to get it to use a socket it does not want to co-operate.

    It seems like it starts up and runs ok, service memcached status is fine. But when trying to start Railgun I notice it fails because it cannot connect to Memcached.

    I have memcached configured to create memcached.sock in /tmp but after starting memcached I notice the file is not present.

    Here is memcached conf:

    #PORT="11211"
    USER="memcached"
    MAXCONN="1024"
    CACHESIZE="512"
    OPTIONS=""
    -s /tmp/memcached.sock
    -a 0666

    I have tried setting the -a option to elevated permissions all the way up to 0777 but still no luck. I do run CageFS but have moved the memcached user so he is not restricted and updated CageFS. I cannot find anything in the logs as to why the memcached.sock file is not created. /tmp I increased in size also today up to 3GB.

    So looking for some help on this one :)
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you paste the specific failure message?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Dradden45

    Dradden45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi :)

    Yeah that would help :P

    Code:
    Starting railgun (via systemctl):  Job for railgun.service failed because a configured resource limit was exceeded. See "systemctl status railgun.service" and "journalctl -xe" for details.
    Railgun successfully backgrounded, ensuring proper startup...
    [FAILED]
    Error starting Railgun as a daemon. Running in foreground...
    su (to railgun) root on none
    Error starting: Error connecting to memcached server /tmp/memcached.sock: dial unix /tmp/memcached.sock: no such file or directory
    [FAILED]
    PID 572965 read from file /var/run/railgun/railgun.pid does not exist or is a zombie.
    Failed to start LSB: Railgun listener.
    Unit railgun.service entered failed state.
    railgun.service failed.

    Code:
    root@s1 [~]# service memcached status
    Redirecting to /bin/systemctl status  memcached.service
    ● memcached.service - Memcached
       Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/memcached.service; disabled; vendor preset: disabled)
       Active: active (running) since Thu 2016-02-11 21:03:56 EST; 4min 21s ago
    Main PID: 572604 (memcached)
       CGroup: /system.slice/memcached.service
               └─572604 /usr/bin/memcached -u memcached -p -m 512 -c 1024

    There is no /tmp/memcached.sock

    memcached config

    Code:
    #PORT="11211"
    USER="memcached"
    MAXCONN="1024"
    CACHESIZE="512"
    OPTIONS=""
    -s /tmp/memcached.sock
    -a 0777
    
     
  4. Dradden45

    Dradden45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I also have issues tracking down the pid file for memcached. It should be in /var/run or am I mistaken?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. Dradden45

    Dradden45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Code:
    yum install memcached.x86_64 php-pecl-memcache.x86_64
    Than I tried to add through Software > Module Installers > PHP Pecl

    It complained about:

    Code:
    checking for libmemcached location... configure: error: memcached support requires libmemcached. Use --with-libmemcached-dir= to specify the prefix where libmemcached headers and library are located
    ERROR: `/root/tmp/pear/memcached/configure --with-php-config=/usr/local/bin/php-config --with-libmemcached-dir=no' failed
    The memcached.so object is not in /usr/local/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20131226
    So I did:

    Code:
    yum install cyrus-sasl-devel
    cd ~
    wget http://launchpad.net/libmemcached/1.0/1.0.4/+download/libmemcached-1.0.4.tar.gz
    tar -zxvf libmemcached-1.0.4.tar.gz
    cd libmemcached-1.0.4
    ./configure
    make && make install
    pecl install memcached
    That still didn't get it going I had to again rebuild through Software > Module Installers > PECL > Memcached

    After that everything for the most part worked fine as long as using port instead of socket. i did actually have it working on socket but than I resized /tmp and ever since than I get the behavior I posted about.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried reverting your /tmp partition to it's original state? Also, what are the current permissions and mount options for your /tmp partition?

    Thank you.
     
  8. Dradden45

    Dradden45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Out of the blue working now, no idea why now it works nothing changed. Will have to see if it persists after the next reboot. Thanks for the help.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page