The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jail Shell/Modify Account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sparek-3, Dec 31, 2003.

  1. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We have our servers set up to give Jailshell by default, if we give an account shell access. However I noticed that you can use the Modify Account link in the Webhost Manager and check Shell Access and then the account has the regular bash shell. Is there anyway to make this set as jailshell by default? I'm wondering if this is some sort of bug or maybe it should be a feature request, or maybe I'm missing a setting somewhere.

    Thanks
     
  2. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Under tweak settings, make jail shell the default..
     
  3. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Jailshell is set to be the default shell. And Jailshell is given if shell is given to new accounts. But if you go to Modify an account, and check the Shell Access box, the user is given regular bash shell.
     
  4. Tim@OCZ

    Tim@OCZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here...Has a fix for this come out yet?
     
  5. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try in root's WHM go to Account Functions/Manage Shell Access

    This does not, by the way, fix the issue with default normal shell being enabled when enabling shell via Modify an account. But is a quick way to change to Jailshell. Maybe cPanel could take a look at this issue.
     
    #5 Izzee, May 8, 2004
    Last edited: May 8, 2004
  6. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your are absolutely correct and you are not crazy! This has been broken again. This is not working and never has. Everytime a Reseller modifies an account using UPGRADE/DOWNGRADE it changes the access to shell back to /BIN/BASH/

    When will this nightmare end?
     
  7. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Found this in the WHM Change Log today:

     
  8. Tim@OCZ

    Tim@OCZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the update.
     
  9. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your welcome :)
    It seems to work fine now.
    Thanks to cPanel for your attention to this matter.
     
Loading...

Share This Page