Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

jail users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by salvatore333, May 7, 2003.

  1. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Please tell me if you have to jail users for added security if you do not allow shell access at all. If you do need to still jail the users can you please tell me how? Also if I need to do this is there a way to do all customers on the box at once? Thank you very much
     
  2. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    We do not grant shell access/jail shell to any clients but choose 'Manage Shell Access' from the left menu in WHM - you can enable jail shell from there - the button to the right.

    John
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    reply

    under "shell" in my whm it says: (disabled) for everyone. do i need to click on "enable jail shelled" for everyone for added security? or since i do not allow shell access i'm good to go? thank you very much for replying to my thread.
     
  4. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You're welcome. If it says disabled for everyone then noone has jail shell access.

    John
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    reply

    So I assume I am secure regarding this issue and I need not take any further action. Thank you very much
     
  6. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Yes, as long as all buttons shows 'disabled' you're secure but it's a good idea to check it from time to time.

    John
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice