The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jailed shell being undone!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sexy_guy, May 22, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can we have this fixed? Evertime a reseller upgrades/downgrades a user account jailed shell gets set back to Normal Shell. It should be fixed that unless we unjail the user or the account gets deleted it shouldnt just change. This is a high maintenace option. 60 resellers on one box with 400 accounts upgrade/downgrading sites daily has turned this option into a nightmare. :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This also happens for unsuspending an account it will be given bash.
    There are "workarounds", hacks to fix this, but it would require change a few too many scripts in /scripts.
     
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This option has not been thought out too well and needs to be redesigned.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Jail shell has not yet been fully integrated with the rest of cPanel/WHM. When it is out of its test phase it will (including the option in packages/setup time)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    When can we expect this to be out of "test" phase and be production ready? Also while we have your attention :) could the changelogs be a little more specific? for example the formmail logging on the latest edge, where are the logs?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. pfmartin

    pfmartin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    sftp still does not work with jailshell. Just thought you should include that as part of your testing.

    Is it just me, or is this the first time everybody else hears about a 'test phase' ?? I appreciate things going through a test phase, but it would be nice to know that it was in that phase. That way, we know that we should not use it in a production environment.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ** BUMP ** Is this out of test yet? I didnt even know it was in test. Did anyone? Also, where is formmail logging and what does this mean? We are not mind readers you know!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: :confused:
     
    #7 sexy_guy, Jun 4, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2003
  8. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    It's incredible to think that I have the RELEASE (supposed to be the most stable of the 3) and I'm STILL testing their stuff.

    Did the clustering ever come out of "test mode"? Thats been in WHM forever now.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Why would a feature still in the testing phase be included in the Stable version of cPanel? Isn't STABLE supposed to be the great everything's-fixed-and-working-and-you-won't-have-any-problems version? Maybe I've missed something here...

    Just wanted to comment on that. Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. parhelic

    parhelic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'd really like to know how to prevent this myself, I'm wondering though which script gets called when an account is modified? I've modified /scripts/realadduser and /scripts/unsuspendacct and made sure those wont be overwritten...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page