Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Jailshell question/problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lamp, Sep 22, 2004.

  1. lamp

    lamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hello Everyone,

    Quick question.

    I have cPanel on a RHL7.3 and am trying to "jailshell" a couple of my users. The problem is that whenever they try to ssh, they are disconnected with the following message:

    "Could not exec SHELL: /bin/bash
    Connection to domain.com closed."

    Now, I checked the /etc/passwd file to see what was going on, and the shell is set to /usr/local/cpanel/bin/jailshell

    Does anyone no what is happening here ... and how to fix it?

    Thanks
    Lamp
     
  2. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/jailshell is the jailshell. The idea (v. basic version) of jailshell is that / is not really / and that each user has it's own virtual root and files etc.

    What is the script you are having problems with exactly?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lamp

    lamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    well...

    when the user runs the command:

    ssh username@domain.com,

    they get kicked out with a message saying

    " Could not exec SHELL: /bin/bash
    Connection to domainname.com closed."

    So, in essence they cannot ssh... yet they have a "jailshell" permission in their password file. Having said that, they should be able to ssh into their "virtual" account like you said... but they can't.

    Lamp
     
  4. porcupine

    porcupine Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Anyone ever find a solution to this? Migrated a serve to CPanel/64 on a Fedora Core 2 / Dual Opteron platform and ran into this exact problem, word for word.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. zlovred

    zlovred Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    same problem on freebsd5.4 with cpanel
     
  6. mehrdad abed

    mehrdad abed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    same problem :(

    Nobody answers.
     
  7. mehrdad abed

    mehrdad abed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    problem solved by using a newer version the kernel
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice