The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Joomla install and always shows the cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Steve.Mitchel, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. Steve.Mitchel

    Steve.Mitchel Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    I has upload joomla to my public_html/joomla folder.
    When i go than to my Website, i comes always to the cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi.
    In my Cpanel error Log:

    Code:
    [Wed Sep 19 18:47:06 2012] [error] [client 91.57.171.xx] File does not exist: /home/wwwskyne/public_html/404.shtml
    [Wed Sep 19 18:47:06 2012] [error] [client 91.57.171.xx] File does not exist: /home/wwwskyne/public_html/favicon.ico
    
    Apache is configured with suphp.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is the domain properly pointed to the server via your nameservers at your domain name registrar, and have you given them time to propagate? I wouldn't bother trying to work on a Joomla installation until you've got the domain working properly. You might place an index.html on the account for now until you're sure the domain has been setup properly.

    As for the errors, you should upload a favicon for your website, and you should also have error pages for your users to land on when they hit a bad link. More on error pages here in the docs:
    Error Pages - cPanel Documentation

    In your: cPanel > Advanced section > Error Pages
    Is where you'll add error pages.

    Adding a favicon and error pages won't help the domain to work, but will make your logs later, easier to read for problems.

    You can test for problems with your domain at a site like this one for example:
    /http://www.intodns.com/


    HTH!
     
  3. carpetpanel

    carpetpanel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Doesn't Joomla have an automated 404 setup like wordpress?
     
Loading...

Share This Page