The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just Another CPanel Proxy thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xyber13, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. xyber13

    xyber13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Howdy folks,

    Am just writing after been readin all the post with regards to the infamous cpanelproxy script. Must say that i am wondering as well why the CPanel boys don't come out with their own fix to the problem where customers cannot login behind firewalls. I mean come on guys, it maybe difficult but surely you can't just respond with Cpanel being a separate program on its own and that no two daemons can share a port... Customers can't configure or control their cpanel when behind such firewalls. We can't be telling customers to wait till they're NOT behind a firewalled commercial network. It is very important to access cpanel/whm on the fly. I really do not think it is appropriate for CPanel to just push the idea cpanelproxy and let it remain 3rdparty. If there is any bridging that needs to be done in order to allow easy access for cpanel on port 80, i believe it has to done by CPanel and no one else. It should not have even been allowed to fall under 3rd party. Guys, what do you think.

    Thank You.

    Rgrds,
    Xyber.
     
  2. xyber13

    xyber13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Bugzilla

    Hey all,

    I've added in a bug request on this. Its Bug 5833, do give ur vote so that this can be made a high priority all you guys facing this prob!

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5833

    Thank you.

    Rgrds,
    Xyber13.
     
  3. xyber13

    xyber13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is this problem really so isolate?

    Guys,

    Check out their reply to me. Am i really the only one facing this problem? Don't any of you out there face this?

    1)Third party solutions? Why should third party solutions be pin-pointed when cpanel is developed by them? And if it is just optional its okay i guess, but this is quite important as owners cannot log in and do the necessary changes?

    2)So network administrators would just relent in to our requests after painstakingly planning, executing and maintaining their system? It hardly sounds reasonable...

    And so i guess we'll have to wait until much people have complained, ratings drop then something will be done when there already is someone pointing this out and the magnitude of this problem is quite high?

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5833


    kenp@cpanel.net changed:

    What |Removed |Added
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    AssignedTo|unconfirmed@cpanel.net |enhancement@cpanel.net
    Severity|critical |enhancement
    Summary|Unable to log into cpanel |Use reverse proxy for logins




    ------- Comment #1 from kenp@cpanel.net 2007-09-06 10:43 -------
    Two services cannot share the same port. Either cPanel runs on port 80, or
    Apache does. At this time the only options are:

    1. A third party solution
    2. Request your network admin to open access to the ports required

    We understand one or both are often beyond the control of some. At this time we
    have no plans to address this, but that could change as more and more people
    are facing this situation.


    Changing this to feature request as the changes required alter current design.

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Rgrds,
    Xyber13
     
    #3 xyber13, Sep 7, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2007
  4. graham_w

    graham_w Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What is so hard about using cPanel Proxy ?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,456
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Indeed. I just installed it to see what the problem was, and can't find one. Works fine here for me. Installation was as simple as it can get.
    (although the "auto installer" URL in the read me gives a 404.)

    Create a sub.domain, upload files and call it from your browser. Works fine here.
     
  6. xyber13

    xyber13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hard?

    Hi Graham,

    Its not about hard or easy. Its about officialism of the work around. Whether it is endorsed by CPanel, this web-controlpanel creators. If it is not official, when they come out with the next new version or some upgrades to it, it may no longer work. However, if they do officiate the Solution, even in the next release or updates, they have to at least make sure it works. Since logging in into CPanel is the requirement to be able to edit the services for the site.
    Till, now i can still see people not being able to log into CPanel with CPanelProxy.

    Unfortunately, it still does not work for me.

    Rgrds,
    Xyber13.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,456
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not sure where it could go wrong. Of course you have the latest files for it, and your cPanel is up to date as of today correct? (there were some fixes recently for redirects, maybe that was the prob here, not sure)

    Hmm, it still does use htacess popup for login. Do you get to that or not even that? What browser are you using? Surely there's a way to troubleshoot this. Post a few more details maybe someone can help you get it going.

    I used this link from SF http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=163755
    That file says its from 2004, and still works today. (for me anyway)
     
  8. xyber13

    xyber13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yup

    Yup,

    That is where i got it from. The 2004 release date. With CPanel 11...
    I guess i'm just appalled by CPanel's reply that they're trying to say not enough people are suffering from the inability to log into CPanel when the product is theirs! And we have to rely on a 3rd party solution? They are just too busy to look at these basic necessities?

    -Xyber.
     
  9. wbrightfl

    wbrightfl Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    At least some of you received replies. I am a new cpanel customer and immediately began receiving complaints from customers not being able to access webmail so I submitted a support ticket 3 days ago and so far, no response at all.

    Might need to look for another control panel and dump cpanel.
     
  10. Michel McA

    Michel McA Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If they are unable to login check your courier services and update them. I encountered a similar problem and running the courierup scripts fixed the problem.
     
  11. Daworm

    Daworm Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bit of a bump on this thread but it's the one closest to my issue.

    I'm now running cPanel 11, and personally the gain from cPanel 11 is too much to make the restoration to the previous version so that cPanelProxy will work worth-while.

    Is someone not able to rework the original cPanelProxy script and update it so that it connects into the updated cPanel 11?
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,456
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
Loading...

Share This Page