The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

kscand high loads since update on kernel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by XPerties, Jul 23, 2003.

  1. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Every since the kernel upgrade kscand has been listed top in Show Current CPU Usage.

    My CPU has been in red almost 80% of the time when I have checked the load in WHM.

    What can I do about this?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You probably used an RPM to update your kernel. Either try updating your kernel again via RPM to see if you get a good kernel that doesn't have kscand issues or compile your kernel from source.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    compile your kernel from source i have never done.

    I'll see about trying to update again via RPM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Posting a link to another forum and pretending you have clue. That's not right.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually, I do have a clue. I went reading in a few places rather than posting jibberish. That pretty much explains that that is fine.

    If I remember correctly kscand scans the system memory for free pages. If you increase the ram in your machine it kscand will use less cpu power.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Tim Greer

    Tim Greer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The fact is, it should not be using that much CPU. That thread you linked to was about the total time it was running, not the CPU usage.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Just to jump in. I have read that thread at WHT before I posted jibberish here. It did me no help at all.

    RAM, More? I have about 44 customers on this one server I am speaking of. I have 1 gig of ram. Cant go any higher than that and do not think adding more would help.


    The CPU % has been around 1.2 - 1.6. It was not like that before the kernel upgrade. Im going to watch it for a few more days and then try a new RPM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I would try a new kernel right away. No sense in waiting a day to see the same result.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Tim Greer

    Tim Greer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I concur. There's currently a flaw by the sound of it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page