The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Language question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Omar, Sep 10, 2002.

  1. Omar

    Omar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am using a custom skin that has all the text in a language file

    To make default accounts easier, I renamed the language file &english& so that I didn't manually have to go to modify account and change the language to the skin's custom language file.

    Now I think that the english language file is updated when cpanel updates, so obviously my method above isn't going to work, and in fact messed up a few accounts.

    My question is:

    Is there any way to set the language file used by default to be something other than &english&

    This is more of a problem for resellers as they can't select the language file.

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    - Omar
     
  2. Omar

    Omar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    *bump*

    I'm surprised nobody else seems to have this same dilema.

    Please post if you can shed some light on this for me.

    - Omar
     
  3. leat

    leat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, I have. I named the &skin& english file to english_skin to avoid it to be overwritten. I then chose the language english_skin.

    As someone else pointed out the command `replace´ is a good to use to change any cPanel config parameter for many users:

    cd /var/cpanel/users
    replace LANG=english LANG=english_skin *

    Note that `replace´ is not part of native Unix (Linux, BSD...), but part of the mySQL package.
     
  4. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi

    I have exactly the same problem. Is there no possibility to set a default language for the cpanel?

    Thanks
    Mike
     
  5. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    http://web.cpanel.net/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=865
     
Loading...

Share This Page