Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Last 300 Error Log" page blank

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Onklmaps, Jun 15, 2017.

  1. Onklmaps

    Onklmaps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    For all my cpanel accounts on my server the "last 300 errors" page is blank:
    I have standard theme.

    When i hover over the last 300 errors in cpanel i get a "disabled" icon on the mouse pointer.

    I created a new blank account and run the domain.com/hitheregkg.html test. No result.
    Nothing about hitheregkg.html in/usr/local/apache/logs/error_log.

    Can you help me find a sollution?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    404 errors are not logged to the Apache error log by default. You can change the "LogLevel" parameter via "WHM >> Service Configuration >> Apache Configuration >> Global Configuration" to "Info" if you want the 404 errors to appear in the error logs.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Onklmaps

    Onklmaps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok, I don't need 404 errors in the log, but the real issue here is that nothing at all is in the "last 300 errors" in the cpanel interface.

    Any input on that?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you sure you have generated new errors on the website that are not 404 errors? Keep in mind that once logs are processed for an account through cpanellogd, the recent errors will no longer appear under the "Errors" option in cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Onklmaps

    Onklmaps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm pretty sure someone of my sites has produced errors. However, is there a way I can produce an error to be 100% sure? Would any php script with a syntax error do?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You shouldn't need a script to get a 404 (file not found) just open your example.com with a non existent URL like: example.com/onklmaps.php
     
  7. Onklmaps

    Onklmaps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You just told me 404-errors don't show up in the last 300 error log by default. I don't want to change defaults.
    A 500 error would show up, right?
     
  8. Onklmaps

    Onklmaps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Anyway, i made a clean account and made a single php file with:
    <?php require('nonexisting.php'); ?>
    nonexisting.php does not exist so I got an 500 error.
    This produced an error_log in my public_html.

    However, nothing was logged in the "Last 300 errors" in cPanel interface. Should'nt it?
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,769
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    My apologies for skimming this thread. :rolleyes:
     
  10. Onklmaps

    Onklmaps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Apology accepted ;-)
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    PHP error messages are not logged to the Apache error log. You could password protect a directory using the "Directory Privacy" option in cPanel and then attempt to access a file in that directory without authenticating to reproduce a "403" error code.

    Thank you.
     
  12. Onklmaps

    Onklmaps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok, I tried that. I got a 401 Unauthorized on the page, but nothing in the log.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you change the "LogLevel" parameter to "Info" via "WHM >> Service Configuration >> Apache Configuration >> Global Configuration" and let us know if that provides the logging details you are expecting?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page