The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Last night's upcp hanging at rebuild_sprites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jandafields, May 2, 2007.

  1. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    rebuild_sprites is taking 99% cpu for a very long time as part of upcp. I believe it is a new feature of some sort. I kill it, and run upcp --force, and it hangs again at that same spot!
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a support request @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/index.cgi?reqtype=tickets
     
  3. metula

    metula Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have the same issue - the server was also completely unavailable for a good 2 hours during the night. :confused:
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  5. platinum

    platinum Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, this would appear to be a bug I think... just posted in the main thread as well, but just to confirm, rebuild_sprites has been running for 243 mins and using 50% cpu - any suggestions? :)
    edit: posting ticket now...
     
  6. platinum

    platinum Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok i've submitted a ticket with the details, and server login info. :)
     
  7. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What version of gd do you have installed?


    gdlib-config --version
     
  8. platinum

    platinum Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    gdlib-config --version:

    2.0.33
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    How about your libjpeg version ?

    rpm -q libjpeg


    I think thats the root of the problem. However only have two tickets on the problem so far every affected machine was centos 3.x/rhel 3.x
     
  10. sivadc

    sivadc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Had the same problem. Also using CentOS 3.
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Released 11.2-CURRENT_11501 in an attempt to address the problem on centos 3. 11503 will be released shortly after to attempt to curtail the problem by a second method as well.
     
  12. sivadc

    sivadc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Update completed this time around.
     
  13. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Looks like it should be ok now.

    We've only worked around the underlying problem, so it may happen with again after installing a 11.x 3rdparty theme (hopefully we will have a new build out way before people start releasing those anyways though). I've opened an internal case to track the problem and attempt to provide a better work around for the the double frees in libjpeg (or is it gd itself.. not sure yet) on centos/rhel 3.x.
     
  14. rzderich

    rzderich Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    same issue here, we run:

    WHM 11.1.0 cPanel 11.2-C11494
    CENTOS Enterprise 3.8 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    I´m upgrading now to 11.2-C11501, looks like these affect only our older boxes with centos 3.x

    Regards
     
  15. metula

    metula Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yup this fixed it for us too.. this is a pretty old box so probably same issue as CentOS 3 - we're running RH 9.0 :cool:
     
  16. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Builds later then 11549 will have a better solution for this. Currently we just worked around it in our themes. This fix will resolve the problem for any new 11.x third party themes as well.
     
  17. rzderich

    rzderich Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I upgrade to: WHM 11.1.0 cPanel 11.2.1-C11600 aAn now everything looks good.

    Best Regards
     
  18. simplybe

    simplybe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same problem here but not running centos, this is an rhe3 server. Updating now to see if it fixes the problem
     
  19. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  20. FeeL

    FeeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rio de janeiro
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    rebuild_sprites

    same here!

    2.6.10-1.771_FC2smp #1 SMP Mon Mar 28 01:10:51 EST 2005 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    # gdlib-config --version
    2.0.33

    libjpeg-6b-31.1

    ---

    A simple kill solved 4 me
     
    #20 FeeL, May 5, 2007
    Last edited: May 5, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page