The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Latest buildapache.sea: I get network read error

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by tadruj, Jan 21, 2002.

  1. tadruj

    tadruj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    when compiling latest buildapache.sea I get network read error while trying to connect to http port with Lynx, Explorer doesn\'t respond.

    What could be the reason ?

    Imagine me, having 100 clients on machine when upgrading this. I don\'t even want to think about this.

    :mad::mad::mad:

    By the way, WHM upgrades bind to 9.x, while WHM is designed to run with 8.x
    Is somebody avare of this ? I hope so.

    I\'m still testing cPanel/WHM combination, how would it work for my business, but I\'m quite dissapointed till now. Don\'t get me wrong, I appreciate the work behind this but this is 1200$/year product and one would expect a little more. Well I hope You have lots of fun with my 100$.

    And I aint from yesterday, when talking about unices...

    Have fun...:P:P:P

    love Tantadruj
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When compiling it you try to connect to localhost ?

    Or afterwards?

    ..... ? Restart apache,what is failing? What is at the base of the /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log ? What errors come back to console?
     
  3. tadruj

    tadruj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No errors on the console nor error_log. httpd working, but clients get no data. I tryed to telnet on 80 and GET /, but I don\'t get nothing. I\'ll take some time to figure this out.

    It\'s quite a fancy thing this cPanel, so I won\'t give up so quickly. :P
     
  4. tadruj

    tadruj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    error_log says this:

    [Tue Jan 22 03:46:32 2002] [notice] child pid 2231 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)

    We all know this dude don\'t we...

    Let\'s go, listen our hartbeat...:P:P:P
     
  5. tadruj

    tadruj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, I removed mod_perl from httpd.conf and it works now.

    But I want to have my mod_perl :P

    Wasn\'t i talking somewhere on this forum on the cPanel/WHM prerequisites ? Well, it\'s time boys, it\'s time...

    Rok
     
  6. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try to install ApacheASP from Layer1 and see if mod_perl gets tamed. ;)
     
  7. tadruj

    tadruj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    YEP, mod_perl got tamed with installing apache_asp

    Thank You for Your help
     
  8. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:661b3135a4][i:661b3135a4]Originally posted by tadruj[/i:661b3135a4]
    Hello,

    when compiling latest buildapache.sea I get network read error while trying to connect to http port with Lynx, Explorer doesn\'t respond.

    What could be the reason ?

    Imagine me, having 100 clients on machine when upgrading this. I don\'t even want to think about this.

    :mad::mad::mad:

    By the way, WHM upgrades bind to 9.x, while WHM is designed to run with 8.x
    Is somebody avare of this ? I hope so.

    I\'m still testing cPanel/WHM combination, how would it work for my business, but I\'m quite dissapointed till now. Don\'t get me wrong, I appreciate the work behind this but this is 1200$/year product and one would expect a little more. Well I hope You have lots of fun with my 100$.

    And I aint from yesterday, when talking about unices...

    Have fun...:P:P:P

    love Tantadruj [/quote:661b3135a4]


    A network read error can be the result of bad ram.
     
  9. tadruj

    tadruj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    network read error was a result of Apache sigsegv-ing because of mod_perl DSO.

    Installing apache ASP solved the problem.

    Thanks anyway for the hint...
     
  10. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    sig 11 is usually hardware error. Be carefull. I would take the machine down for tests. Run manufacture HD test and a ram test xmem86
     
  11. First Faze

    First Faze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I downloaded apache-asp.sea and did sh apache-asp.sea

    then re-started apache and it doesnt look like it did anything.
     
  12. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:827258d238][i:827258d238]Originally posted by First Faze[/i:827258d238]

    I downloaded apache-asp.sea and did sh apache-asp.sea

    then re-started apache and it doesnt look like it did anything.[/quote:827258d238]

    What were you expecting to do?
     
  13. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apache-ASP basically installs a perl module and makes it &possible& for you to utilize that bad boy within apache---

    there is additional tweaking to be done and the customer needs to understand what he or she is actually doing.

    Best information is here, of course-
    http://www.apache-asp.org/
    g00d luck.
     
  14. Site5-Matt

    Site5-Matt Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We actually got a segfault on an existing (stable) server when mod_perl was installed. Disable it and the segfault goes away immediately. The server is otherwise stable, and has had no indications of any hardware issues whatsoever.

    Just FYI.

    Matt
     
Loading...

Share This Page