The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

layer1 down?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by damainman, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I get this when i log-in whm:
    Unable to fetch Web Host Manager news. The News server may be down or unreachable.

    And when i go to update apache i get this:
    There was an error while fetching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.rc
     
  2. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i also get this:

    /scripts/updatenow
    rsync: getaddrinfo: rsync.cpanel.net 873: Name or service not known
    rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(83)
     
  3. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So am i the only one who can't access layer1 from cpanel?
     
  4. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes, no maybe so?
     
  5. mediazone

    mediazone Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Im having the exact same problem :(
    I cant find any threads in here that tells me what i did wrong
     
  6. hotice007

    hotice007 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  7. chud67

    chud67 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  8. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Now that is funny. A 4 month old thread on not being able to reach a host and it gets bumped with no further explanation.

    No problems reaching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.rc here :)
     
  9. dffd

    dffd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    updates sure as hell aint working.

    There was an error while fetching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.rc

    I just had an os reinstall on my server and everything is screwed up because layer one is down
     
  10. chae

    chae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
  11. kimpossible

    kimpossible Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I could almost feel for them. Almost. No redudancy in this day and age? I'd be swinging from the end of a rope if that happened to our customers.

    By the same token, it's the 15th, I'm still getting an "Timeout while trying to fetch http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.rc...There was an error while fetching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.rc"

    So there are security holes in my servers and very little I can do do about it if I don't want to risk hosing cpanel in the process.

    How much do you want to bet I still have to pay for my cpanel leases this month?
     
Loading...

Share This Page