The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED LFD Excessive Resource Usage - Normal for PHP-FPM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ItsMattSon, Feb 8, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys,

    I know this one is probably majority third-party so perhaps better suited on the ConfigServer forums but if anyone has run into this running cPanel and php-fpm and knows a little bit about it, it'd help. Of course, I don't really expect a huge amount of replies here so no hard feelings if I get no feedback :p

    Just curious if anyone else receives a lot of emails from LFD regarding 'excessive resource usage' from php-fpm where command line is 'php-fpm: pool site_com'

    Time: Wed Feb 8 22:19:14 2017 +0800
    Account: site
    Resource: Virtual Memory Size
    Exceeded: 547 > 256 (MB)
    Executable: /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/
    sbin/php-fpm
    Command Line: php-fpm: pool site_com
    PID: 26852 (Parent PID:17641)
    Killed: No

    I know I can set the PT_USERMEM value higher than the default 256MB to never see these particular emails again and I know I can disable it even, but it serves a purpose enabled and left at 256.

    Anyone know why php-fpm is going above? Or how to diagnose that? Or is it pretty normal? (if it is, I suppose I could deal with that)
     
  2. SB-Nick

    SB-Nick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I find this quite normal, if the thread isnt overloading the machine there isnt much to do except to tune PT_ or FPM.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  3. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeah, I think you might be right there @SB-Nick.

    Mind if I ask you how you'd personally handle it? Would you raise PT_USERMEM to 768MB or would you add that 'php-fpm: pool site_com' Command Line to csf.pignore?
     
  4. SB-Nick

    SB-Nick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I personally pignore it on medium to heavy boxes.
     
    ItsMattSon likes this.
  5. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So, in the end I went with adding the Command Line of two that were hassling me every minute or so as I didn't thing disabling PT_USERMEM was a good idea or raising the value to anything higher.

    I know this line can be faked by exploits but I guess there's no better way to go about it, really.

    cmd:php-fpm: pool site_com
    pcmd:/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/bin/php /home/site/public_html/bin/magento *

    And as long as I put those together correctly, that should be the last I see about PHP-FPM pool for that site and Magento's cron jobs. Thanks for the help!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,171
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @ItsMattSon,

    Thanks for updating this thread with the outcome. I'm marking this thread as solved.
     
Loading...

Share This Page