Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED LFD Excessive Resource Usage - Normal for PHP-FPM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ItsMattSon, Feb 8, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys,

    I know this one is probably majority third-party so perhaps better suited on the ConfigServer forums but if anyone has run into this running cPanel and php-fpm and knows a little bit about it, it'd help. Of course, I don't really expect a huge amount of replies here so no hard feelings if I get no feedback :p

    Just curious if anyone else receives a lot of emails from LFD regarding 'excessive resource usage' from php-fpm where command line is 'php-fpm: pool site_com'

    Time: Wed Feb 8 22:19:14 2017 +0800
    Account: site
    Resource: Virtual Memory Size
    Exceeded: 547 > 256 (MB)
    Executable: /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/
    sbin/php-fpm
    Command Line: php-fpm: pool site_com
    PID: 26852 (Parent PID:17641)
    Killed: No

    I know I can set the PT_USERMEM value higher than the default 256MB to never see these particular emails again and I know I can disable it even, but it serves a purpose enabled and left at 256.

    Anyone know why php-fpm is going above? Or how to diagnose that? Or is it pretty normal? (if it is, I suppose I could deal with that)
     
  2. SB-Nick

    SB-Nick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I find this quite normal, if the thread isnt overloading the machine there isnt much to do except to tune PT_ or FPM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  3. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeah, I think you might be right there @SB-Nick.

    Mind if I ask you how you'd personally handle it? Would you raise PT_USERMEM to 768MB or would you add that 'php-fpm: pool site_com' Command Line to csf.pignore?
     
  4. SB-Nick

    SB-Nick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I personally pignore it on medium to heavy boxes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    ItsMattSon likes this.
  5. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So, in the end I went with adding the Command Line of two that were hassling me every minute or so as I didn't thing disabling PT_USERMEM was a good idea or raising the value to anything higher.

    I know this line can be faked by exploits but I guess there's no better way to go about it, really.

    cmd:php-fpm: pool site_com
    pcmd:/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/bin/php /home/site/public_html/bin/magento *

    And as long as I put those together correctly, that should be the last I see about PHP-FPM pool for that site and Magento's cron jobs. Thanks for the help!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,659
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @ItsMattSon,

    Thanks for updating this thread with the outcome. I'm marking this thread as solved.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice