Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

lftp file size transfers count against servers RAM usage

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by MyPC8MyBrain, May 8, 2017.

  1. MyPC8MyBrain

    MyPC8MyBrain Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello again CPanel community,

    I have a puzzler on my hands, I am a GoDaddy customer currently on an Enterprise Business shared hosting with 2 CPU cores and 4GB ram dedicated,

    The issue has spun for some time now with allot of noise around it as for the cause of it;
    I finally decided to take matters to my own hands and investigate,

    as it appears my hosting provider is unable to find any server side fault;
    while I definitely see an issue and a reoccurring pattern!

    it is very specific and seem to only happen when I am using lftp to download a file
    (I am unable to run ftp directly; I have to use lftp which works in my environment for downloading files);

    That downloaded file size will than start counting against my servers resources as it downloads; and then stay there!
    when I say stay there I mean it will remains “apparently” cached in RAM all day,

    I am running this exact command for my download job,

    Code:
    lftp -c 'open -e "set ftp:ssl-allow no; mirror --continue --use-pget-n=2 -v -e Backup/ ./BackupR;quit" -u user,password@ 123.123.123.123
    which completes fine in just few minutes; during this session I am transferring a .tar.gz which is an output of standard CPanel “full backup” from my remote server to local,

    everything is fine on the server side until I download this remote backup to my local server (happens on both of my servers; both are downloading each others full backup copy for remote storage daily);

    the size of this backup file as it transfers over will then get accounted against my servers RAM even long after the job completes and session was closed with no issues,
    the file size remains in RAM usage as if it’s a server side process using this RAM
    (all the while cpu is always at 0),


    that is until I run this little hack I found;
    if I run another CPanel “full backup” servers stats immediately go back to normal usage statistics as soon as the backup completes!
    If I don’t do this “full backup” again (which I delete right after); RAM usage will remain at access all day,

    It kind looks like “bandwidth” usage is added to “RAM” usage by mistake?!

    any idea or suggestion how to approach this issue?

    TIA
    Chris
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you notice any related processes running on the server when using the "ps auxf" command after performing this action?

    Thank you.
     
    MyPC8MyBrain likes this.
  3. MyPC8MyBrain

    MyPC8MyBrain Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you for picking this up Michael,
    i just run a the backup "hack" reset an hour ago;
    at the moment im only seeing 4 process; two of them related to my current connection,

    Code:
        PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ   RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
    myuser    812974  0.0  0.0 113696  2016 ?        S    13:01   0:00 sshd: myuser@
    myuser    812976  0.0  0.0  11444  1760 pts/0    Ss   13:01   0:00  \_ -bash
    myuser    813035  0.0  0.0  13364  1000 pts/0    R+   13:01   0:00      \_ ps au
    myuser    809122  0.6  0.7 390380 30664 ?        S    12:43   0:06 /usr/bin/php
    
    TIA
    Chris

    i will keep a close eye on "ps auxf" output in the upcoming days for anything suspicious,

    Chris,
     
    #3 MyPC8MyBrain, May 9, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2017
  4. MyPC8MyBrain

    MyPC8MyBrain Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Ive been watching our servers memory creep up the past few hours,
    it is not dramatic yet since i reset it earlier; on the hour we have a db backup thats transferred across;
    its not a large file just about 7.5mb compressed; these slowly add up to our server memory usage,
    now i do see several processes that are sort of hanging there...

    Code:
    USER         PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ   RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
    username    906207  0.0  0.0 113696  2016 ?        S    19:57   0:00 sshd: username@
    username   906209  0.0  0.0  11444  1760 pts/0    Ss   19:57   0:00  \_ -bash
    username   906281  0.0  0.0  13368  1012 pts/0    R+   19:57   0:00      \_ ps au
    username   905835  0.9  0.8 392216 34564 ?        S    19:56   0:00 /usr/bin/php
    username   905975  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        Z    19:56   0:00
    username   905974  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        Z    19:56   0:00
    username   905973  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        Z    19:56   0:00
    username   905971  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        Z    19:56   0:00
    username   905970  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        Z    19:56   0:00
    username   905969  0.0  0.0      0     0 ?        Z    19:56   0:00
    
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look at the affected system and see what's happening?

    Thank you.
     
    MyPC8MyBrain likes this.
  6. MyPC8MyBrain

    MyPC8MyBrain Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you Michael,
    unfortunately i am not a direct CPanel customer; i do not have access to WHM with my account type :(
    i am though through GoDaddy, per the manual i should contact them for support?
    (i have but they claim they contacted the "developer" and were assured that its nothing on the system!
    GoDaddy Incident ID: 31927382 (still)

    TIA
    Chris
     
    #6 MyPC8MyBrain, May 10, 2017
    Last edited: May 11, 2017
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You may want to follow up your existing support request with your provider and request more technical details about what was testing and how it was confirmed to not relate to the cPanel backup process.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page