The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"libgcc_s.so.1 must be installed for pthread_cancel to work"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by quietFinn, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    in a VPS I did MySQL Upgrade from 5.1 to 5.5.
    After the upgrade I am getting a 500-error in some (not all) sites.
    In /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log I see this:
    [Fri Dec 27 17:22:45 2013] [error] [client xx.xxx.xxx.xx] libgcc_s.so.1 must be installed for pthread_cancel to work
    [Fri Dec 27 17:22:45 2013] [error] [client xx.xxx.xxx.xx] Premature end of script headers: index.php

    WHM 11.40.1 (build 8)
    CENTOS 6.5 x86_64 vmware

    PHP 5.2.17
    mysql 5.5.34
    Apache 2.2.26

    libgcc_s.so.1 exists:
    /lib/libgcc_s.so.1
    /lib64/libgcc_s.so.1

    I ran EasyApache a few times with different settings, and upcp --force, still the same.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes there is:

    grep "RLimitMEM" /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    RLimitMEM 228335274
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes that solved it, thank you.

    Then I went to WHM -> Service Configuration -> Apache Configuration -> Memory Usage Restrictions

    That added the same line in httpd.conf, so the error was back.

    When I edited the line from
    RLimitMEM 228335274
    to
    RLimitMEM 328335274

    the error went away again.

    So it seems that for some reason in that server it's not safe to use that "Memory Usage Restrictions" function.


    And I suppose it's good to tell this:

    If you edit httpd.conf by yourself you have to run:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/apache_conf_distiller --update
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/build_apache_conf
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd -k restart
    
     
  6. rpili1313

    rpili1313 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have the same problem but can't seem to find RMlimit line in the config file.
    Could you please help?

    I'm a noob an unix so pls be accurate on the commands :)

    Thx
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on the details of how you are having the exact same problem? For instance, what error message do you receive?

    Thank you.
     
  8. RonanRBR

    RonanRBR Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i have the same problem, but occurs only with limited user
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's important to let us know what exact issue you are experiencing, as often times it's completely different than the original post.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - libgcc_s must installed
  1. JonathanW-GOT
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,281

Share This Page