The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'License File Invalid' - Help !

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by velocity, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. velocity

    velocity Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    O.k...

    Our websites went offline suddenly. Trying to login to WHM resulted in:

    Reading other forum threads the advice was follow the Expired License Checklist. I get stuck at the second point:

    Can anyone help!?!
     
  2. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    can you show us your /etc/resolv.conf entries ?
     
  3. velocity

    velocity Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    resolv.conf

    I've pm'd you the content of my resolv.conf file.

    Cheers.
     
  4. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    replied to your PM ;)
     
  5. velocity

    velocity Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    O.k. we had someone take a look at the server and it turns out that (bad translation of tech speak coming!) it was something to do with a domain name that was added but didn't get assigned an IP address. When Cpanel carried out a bind (or something?) it choked and brought everything down.

    Does that make any sense to anyone?
     
  6. anushkumar

    anushkumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think all he wanted to say was the domain which is added didnt get an IP assigned and when bind is reloaded, everything went down because of that.


    May be or may be not !!!! (Thats the simplest way could understand)
     
  7. velocity

    velocity Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sounds about right...

    So why d'ya think the domain in question (parked) didn't get assigned an IP. More importantly; is it common for this sort of thing to happen and bring the server to it's knees (i.e. could this easily happen again?). I've added other domains and parked them before with no problem. I think what triggered this off was changing some of the settings in the hosting packages we had set up.
     
  8. maxisgsm

    maxisgsm Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    so, what the solutions ??? how to solve this problem?
     
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page