The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

license for redundant lines

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by szaboi, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. szaboi

    szaboi Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    If my server uses two public IP addresses for redundancy, i have to pay a license for every address, or just one?

    I've searched a lot but didn't find anything, sorry if this is a stupid question :)

    Thank you very much:)
     
    #1 szaboi, Aug 13, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2009
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Generally when you purchase a server, you will get some IP address by default. However, If you purchase additional IP addresses then you will need to pay per IP addresses.
     
  3. szaboi

    szaboi Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi thewebhosting, thanks for you reply!

    I think i wasn't clear enogh :). I have my own server, at home, in a room ...
    I use two independent ISP's (two different public IPs) because the ISP s in my zone are not reliable enough :(

    I would like to install cPanel on my server.
    Now, i have read that i have to pay a license for every public IP address.

    I have to pay one or two licenses in my case?

    I use a single server, my income does not increase with the second IP address, i use it only for redundancy.

    Thank you.
     
  4. robbie_troster

    robbie_troster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You'll have to purchase 2 licenses as you are using 2 different public IPs.


    I don't get it.. why 2 ISPs with different IPS...? you'll be running around like a maid cleaning a castle! All DNS servers would change, accounts, domains...

    It will be hell to change the IPS on the server every day or when you switch
     
  5. szaboi

    szaboi Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi robbie,

    I don't have to change, i use them simultaneously :) And cPanel says i have to pay a license for a server, based on the ip address used. I just can't understand why to pay two licenses for a single server.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Disregarding licensing issues, cPanel/WHM isn't designed to assign 2 IP addresses to a single website. This could pose yet another issue to your setup.
     
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    i think everyone is missing the point in his question. you have have a million IPs assigned and resolving to the same phsical server. It really matters NOT how they get there. BUT, if you have one phsical server and one instance of cpservd running on that on ephsical box, having a license for multiple IPs is stupid. It's the same server running the same instance of cPanel. So you need one license for one running instance of cPanel per phsical server. Excluding a virtual server setup. but basically per running instance I guess is what I am saying. If you have 2 servers, each set up with different IPs, it doesn't matter what's on them, if you want cPanel to run on both at the same time, fully licsensed then you need two lics. If I am wrong someone tell me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page