Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

License IP Incorrect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Michael Legg, Oct 15, 2017.

  1. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have installed cPanel on a new server and after the installation the broadcast IP of the server was changed.

    Everything appears to be working OK, the new IP appears in WHM as the default IP.
    lynx --dump cpanel.net/myip returns the new IP.

    I'm now ready to buy a license, but the message that is displayed warning me about the trial license is still displaying the old IP.

    Is this something I need to be concerned about or can I go ahead and order the license using the new IP and everything will be fine?
     
  2. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I purchased a license, but as I feared cPanel still thinks it's running under the trial license.

    How to I get cPanel to recognise the IP of the server and therefore the licence?
     
  3. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    I'm sorry to hear you are having license issues. It sounds like your server has the new IP configured properly. Could you check the IP's at cPanel & WHM License Verification | cPanel Inc. ? If you see your newly purchased license under the old IP and not under the new IP, then the license needs to be updated on our side. This can be done as below:
    1. Login to your cPanel Store account - cPanel Store
    2. Under Orders / Licenses, click on View my licenses
    3. You will be redirected to the Manage Licenses page. There will be a list of your IPs with several options on the right-hand side. The pencil icon under Actions is for Edit IP
    4. Click on the pencil icon
    5. Enter the new IP address
    6. Click on Save Changes

    Once that is complete you'll need to run the following command on your server to make sure the license is properly updated:
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks William

    I thought I had already done it, but I ran /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt again and it's all good now.

    Thank you
     
  5. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's great to hear Michael! I'll go ahead and marked this as solved for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    This problem re-occurs on a regular basis. Is there a way to help cPanel remember that I have a license so I don't have to run /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt every week?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,638
    Likes Received:
    449
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Your IP on the server keeps changing?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    No, cPanel keeps using the wrong IP to check the licence
     
  9. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Just did the latest cPanel upgrade and cPanel has stopped working again because it's using the wrong IP address to check the license.

    I've run/usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt multiple times and it keeps saying ...

    Updating cPanel license...Done. Update Failed!
    Error message:
    The cPanel license server said that a license could not be issued for your server (66).
    For more information visit: Legal Notices - cPanel Inc.

    The exact message was: Already Used cPanel/WHM Trial License for this IP.

    The problem is that cPanel keeps using the wrong IP address to check the license.

    I've fixed the IP (again) in /var/cpanel/cpnat but it hasn't helped.

    Can anyone help me to (1) fix this and (2) prevent it from happening again?
     
  10. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    lynx --dump cpanel.net/myip is returning the wrong IP. What do I need to do to get cpanel to use the correct IP?
     
  11. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Michael Legg

    This issue is best handled through the ticket system. Please open a ticket using the link in my signature so that we can investigate this further.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Michael Legg

    Michael Legg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Farm, Queensland, Australi
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    It magically started working again
     
  13. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Michael Legg

    None the less, it really shouldn't be occurring and to ensure it doesn't happen again I would suggest continuing with the ticket.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice