The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

License on the wrong ip.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by carlos8126, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. carlos8126

    carlos8126 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello. I have a server here that has 3 ips, when cpanel was installed, someone gave cpanel the ip that has no lincese., When i try to update the lic it says the license is expired. (for that ip)

    Is there a way to change the ip cpanel sees as the licensed one?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel will use the server's primary IP address as the IP address for licensing. You can either change the server's primary IP address or, instead, contact your licensing provider about changing the IP on the license to match that of your server's current primary IP address.

    You can determine your server's primary IP address by running the following command via SSH:

    Code:
    curl http://www.cPanel.net/showip.cgi
     
  3. rkatz0

    rkatz0 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My main ip address was license and has always been the same, now after a reboot cpanel is seeing a different ip address. Someone said running /scripts/upcp would solve it, it didn't. According to everything I have seen the main ip is the main ip. Did cPanel introduce a bug to their showip.cgi that is causing this problem?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello rkatz0,

    Please check both of the following to see if both report the same IP broadcasting:

    Code:
    lynx --dump www.whatismyip.com/automation/n09230945.asp
    lynx --dump cpanel.net/myip
    If whatismyip.com also reports the same IP that cPanel.net is reporting and it is not the server's main IP, then it isn't cPanel but the machine itself that is broadcasting the wrong IP. If whatismyip.com shows a different IP than cPanel is reporting, please open a ticket with us using WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature.

    Thanks.
     
  5. Jeff_ih

    Jeff_ih Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How can i fix the server broadcasting the wrong IP ?
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You'll need to speak with whoever setup the machine or the network engineer / provider. If the server is broadcasting the wrong IP, then whoever setup the network for the machine is the one who would have been involved.
     
Loading...

Share This Page