The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Limit Number of Domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wedohosting.com, Sep 22, 2006.

  1. wedohosting.com

    wedohosting.com Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Hi all,

    I'm very much a junior admin and have been delegated the project of setting up cPanel for our new reseller environment. I've hit my first roadblock, maybe someone can provide me with some insight?

    We want to limit the number of domain names that a reseller can host within their account. I've created a package, but I have not found a way to limit a reseller to 10 domains.

    I'll feel stupid if the answer is obvious because I've been trying to figure this out since yesterday.

    Any tips to share?

    Joanne
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Setup your resellers with standard domain packages that you would sell to anyone else.. Nothing special...

    Then configure them as a reseller in WHM under RESELLER CENTER.
    You can set all the restrictions you like, from domain limits, bandwidth and package creation rules, etc...
     
  3. wedohosting.com

    wedohosting.com Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Thanks!

    I've found the option to limit the domains, I'm so new to this control panel that the options seem obscure to me. I appreciate your quick response, thanks for that :)
     
  4. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    actually that only limitsh the number of accounts a reseller can create.
    a reseller can then create a package with 10000 addon domains, so if you want to limit the number of DOMAINS that doesn't help you.
     
  5. wedohosting.com

    wedohosting.com Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Thanks for that tip, I see it will also be important to set a limit for the number of AddOns too then. All of this has turned into a steep learning curve, I'm relieved to have this forum in a pinch.
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Very true yes, I was thinking account limits and not domains. It would be wise to limit them to approved packages to resell.
     
  7. wedohosting.com

    wedohosting.com Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Hmm, that's a layer I hadn't even considered. I come from an old Plesk environment where what you'd see is all you got, so this concept hadn't even occurred to me. Back to the drawing board :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page